When Will Steemit Add a Feature To Delete a Submitted Story

in #steemit8 years ago

Want To Delete Your Steemit Post?

For now, too bad, you can't.

Ever think that the only thing recorded into the Blockchain was numbers? Stats of what money you've sent or received? Think again. Your words will NOT go away here on #Steemit . I know this seems a little crazy and trust me when I say I've looked high and low for a solution, but it's just how it is. Will the future of Steemit allow you to take back some things that you've said? I have no idea but I sure hope so. I don't know if you've ever seen an over dramatic Facebook post or one you just REALLY regret because say you had too much to drink, but I'm sure we can all agree that we were happy to press that delete button once we realized what we had done.

By Megan Marchese


Sort:  

The Edit and Delete features were only removed a week or two ago. They could re-enable them if enough people ask. The rumor was the feature was removed to prevent hacked accounts from deleting good content.

Keep asking. Being prevented from controlling your data is almost unethical when the control could be easily handed back to the users.

I couldn't agree more! Thanks for the info :)

Good point Jellowducky, let's hope it's a temporary situation.
It's not the drunken post I'm worried about, it's the "What The Hell Did I Buy Off eBay Last Night?" that scares me.

If you have to remove your content don't post it in the first place. I'm sure ill have some embarrassing posts but if you can't realize it's a bad post within the edit time then it's going to be out there. No more censorship. Free speech

Some people just aren't that careful though is what i'm getting at. Oh man the many a facebook posts i'm sure people have regretted lol if we thought out everything as we should, the delete button wouldn't be anywhere online, but we are a flawed folk lol

Wow, thank you for pointing this out. I'm new here and that's very nice to know.

You can not delete something from blockchain. But, here at Steemit, you can probably edit your post and remove the content.

As that will change it here on the platform, unfortunately once on the blockchain, always on the blockchain :-/

You can always edit it afterwards. Someone kind of explained this to me. A post is bassically currency after it is posted. Just like how you can't delete bitcoin you can't delete steem(posts).

Me gusta lo que has publicado, gracias por compartir tu opinión. Te invito a que visites mi blogg, si te gusta vota, seguime o compartí con tus amigos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42