Steemit payout, where did all the money go?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I am new at Steemit so the payout process doesn't make any sense to me. Can you help? Based on weighted votes your payout can increase very high, to thousands of dollars for an article, but do you actually receive that money?

Yesterday, I posted an article that received roughly 80 votes with two hours remaining until payout. The counter next to the upvote said the payout would be $286 worth of Steemit dollars. My excitement was palpable. Was it possible I could make a shift from a 9 to 5 job to writing full time? I went to bed with thoughts of the future dancing around.

As I woke up this morning, excitement still very high, it quickly dropped to confusion. The payout counter reads only $46. Within two hours $240 Steem dollars disappeared. What is more confusing still is that my wallet only showed $26 available under the Steem dollar section. This transaction isn't showing up in the history section either.

What happened to the $266? Can someone fully explain this? Is everything on a lag and it will take a few days to get the full amount? Why does Steemit tell you that you will be getting hundreds of Steemit dollars and then poof it is gone? The article wasn't flagged or reported so again, Steemit payout, what is up with you?

Sort:  

You accumulated ~$200. Someone with big reputation flagged you or a whale who voted you took his vote back so it decreased to ~$46 then comes the tricky part. Reward is distributed as 75% to author and 25% to curators. 50% of the 75% you receive is in the form of steem dollars and rest gets added to your steem power.

How can you tell if you get flagged? Number should appear next to the flag? Some have votes worth hundreds of dollars? Thanks!

You should see a number next to the flag and a minus instead of plus sign in the list of comments with the username of the person that flagged you.

The votes of the so called whales are worth hundreds of dollars each... :)

Someone must have taken a vote back as I do not see any minus signs. I wonder why... Thanks!

Yes, that is also a possiblity. I have done it myself a couple of times after mistakenly clicking on a vote button without actually willing to vote for something.

I also just joined just Steemit, so this was super helpful. Thank you.

I'm glad I asked the questions then. :)

That's it right there.

That's right someone vote you down or give you flag. This incident being popular now

Shrugs. That money would have been nice though. Lol.

my question is when the payout's happen. is it after 7 days or do we need to wait longer?

It sucks that we cannot simply get all the cash :) I mean we did earn it, but yeah everything has its hooks and catches out here online. I just hope cashing out isn't that difficult for me when the time comes. God willing it comes.

Here is my question. I've read that steem to steem power conversion is 1-1. Yesterday I got a payout at 5.756 SBD and 1.095 STEEM POWER. Why so little steem power? sbd was trading for steem at 1.00 at the time! Why can I get paid 50-50 and be able to purchase 5 extra steem power after selling sbd and powering up? Do we get paid out as if sbd is only worth $1 usd?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53554.32
ETH 2224.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29