You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Don't Want to Write for Bots that Don't Consider Content. Response to @dantheman latest voting/curation post.

in #steemit8 years ago

It's an interesting point you raised. The minnows who "successfully" curate a post that whales eventually upvote get an even decreasing amount of reward. Beside the low curation reward, it's only the post that gets noticed and the minnows who vote are left with a third-decimal place bounty. It seems rather unfair. Every one else succeeds except for the ones who found the post.

Sure, when a minnow votes, it's not only for the curation reward but also because the post deserved to be noticed. Still, there's very little incentive for the minnows to vote. The posters get the rewards, and I can't speak for everyone but I'm very happy for their success, however the ones who discovered the post are left in the dust. It doesn't feel like everyone's on the same boat, and I hope that changes in the future.

Sort:  

Thank you! Exactly!

I don't mean any of this in the sense that it's not fair (which I didn't read you as doing either) but rather as a concern of motivation. If the dolphin/whale bot need this for training and data collection, I see the data being invalidated because the curating motivations for minnows are so much different.

Minnows use their resources (and sometime upvoting) to help a post gain that initial traction get their visibility up. While I have no doubt that some votes are honest curation, many are not. When this is the case I'd assume many minnows are discounted by curator bots because their voting would seem erratic and not score highly in pre-identifying popular posts.

So this leaves the bottom level curation job in my eyes to the near dolphins or higher, not necessarily the minnows or find a way to motivate the minnows to focus more on curation instead of gaining initial traction.

Again, just my view. :)

Oh, yeah, yeah. Poor choice of words on my part. I share the same sentiment as you do. More of lack of motivation, than unfairness. It's great that you emphasized these thoughts. I hope the powers-that-be take notice and make the necessary changes. I mean, it's all for the betterment of everyone involved anyway.

No worries, I took it that way. I'm just always careful of how others might read things, so I err on the side of caution.

Totally agree though, will be interesting to see where things go from here. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56934.21
ETH 3091.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38