Payouts Decreasing as Upvotes Increase Discrepancy

in #steemit8 years ago


I noticed something frustrating, yet interesting in real-time today. I had a post with awesome photos with only 8 votes netting $3.03. That's OK maybe some more votes will come in. I had my blog pulled up on my phone and my wife standing right beside me just had the chance to read my post. I watched her click up-vote on my post and I refreshed my screen and the total votes went to 9 but the payout went DOWN. This is not the first time I've noticed this. This was more of a real-time test. What kind of messed up algorithm is being run. I know she doesn't have much steem power, but is the system programmed to reduce payouts if newer members upvote? That is a terrible equation and harms the community and disregards new users' opinions and harms posters. It's already bad enough that newer users' votes sometimes don't amount to $0.01, but negative really!? Overnight I have seen 83 votes valued at $150.xx and next day finish at 153 votes at $119.xx. There is something discouraging going on with these calculations that don't make cents ;) (ha sense) Does this have to do with if then volume limits depending on if a higher powered steemer clicks then funds are taken away to go to them?

Sort:  

User's voting power decreases as they upvote more and more posts during a short period of time, your payout decrease may have been influenced by this. You can view voting power at steemd.com/@username

My voting power was like 98% at the time. Im saying someone else upvoted on mine and my dollar earned went down.

I'll have to follow you just because of that comment. Thanks @thovre

There are about 56,00 new tokens release each day. The more votes there are as a whole, the less each vote is worth. Also the value of steam has went down over the past couple of days so the overall value of each steem token is lower.

This seems like the best answer.

ever figure this out?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69000.61
ETH 3825.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48