Why Steemit Needs 1 Million Users

in #steemit8 years ago

Steemit is a great platform that we all love taking apart of. We have seen many people do extremely well and making thousands of dollars per post. Which is awesome but to some people 90% of the posts are a drag. Currently with the small database (50,000ish) we haven't seen a huge diversity in users. Most of the people who are making thousands are avid bitcoin junkies.

I'm talking about the people who stare at graphs and charts all day planning an early retirement.

Now there is nothing wrong with these people. I've learned a great deal about cryptocurrency in a short time because of them. I don't really know enough to voice my opinion on the matter yet. I'll have to sit back study & learn until I'm ready.

The reason I say steemit needs a million users is so people like myself can find a network. I'm an avid fisherman but steemit only has four fisherman total and they hardly use the system because they aren't making much money. I don't really mind that I'm not making anything now because I'm here to watch the platform get larger. I'm looking at the bigger picture; maybe a fishing company gets on board and they see that my fishing page has 'X' followers. Maybe they could recruit me in some way. Now I'm just sitting back trying to get as many followers as possible.

Sort:  

Great post. I find the same. There are plenty of my fellow ancaps here. But not nearly enough of my other interests like pro wrestling, beardology, world religions, or general pop culture. I guess it's up to me to pump out some content.

The coin supply has increased by over 12% in a matter of weeks. That is worrying me. We really need to convince more people to buy, trade and hold STEEM as an investment.

I wouldn't worry about coin dilution. Users will eventually draw in people and businesses who have a legitimate reason to acquire Steem Power. The price will reflect this when we reach a critical mass of people.

Nice point. I believe that in two years time this thing will be huge and those who are here for the long term will reap benefits.

Also agree that we need more diversity on steemit, more new people with different interests and things to write about. That however also rises the need of more people with more power that can look at these articles and do the right choice of upvoting them or not... we are currently lacking a lot from both sides.

I'm riding the Steemit wave for now myself. I haven't gotten any large payouts myself by I know if I keep trying I know eventually I'll get that lucky post :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61059.95
ETH 2677.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61