3 Crude but Honest Lessons Learned On Steemit the HARD WAY

in #steemit6 years ago

Yupp.. You guessed it right. its one of those awful black days when nothing is pleasing and everything that happens is an excuse for anger.

Case in point, success on steemit, which I thought was attached to the condition of being a quality and interesting content creator...

Suffice to say I could not have been more wrong..

Share your articles here for curation.png

So here are my 3 harsh lessons that I learned from steemit the hard way...

1. Advertising Your Content is Important

You were wrong to think that you can just write a quality piece and people would swarm over to your blog and you will get some sweet upvotes worth 300$ on it. Nope. You actually have to advertise it if you care one bit about your efforts that you have put into the post. Go from profile to profile. Send your article's link in memo and send some $$$ to whales and hope that they see it and upvote it too.

So you are gonna have to sacrifice your self respect here if you ever hope to earn some upvotes that can truly make a difference. Just waiting there, will not get you any attention.

2. Without Vote Selling, You Cannot Earn Consistently

You might have wondered that how from time to time, different influential people post about how voting bots have destroyed the steem eco system yet after a post or two, they go back inside their caves without offering any practical solutions to fight and counter this practice.

There is a reason for it is that all of the voting bots are owned by these influential people and they are getting a pretty good profit out of them on daily basis. Now who would want to burn their source of income out of goodwill?
They don't vote on your articles fearing that it will sink their own voting power and hence will get less turn over from vote selling.

So with that prelude, You should also drop the placards of "Stop Vote Selling / Buying" and get on the train to earn some consistent money on steemit. I don't know about you I cannot keep advertising my content again and again to earn something here.

While many of you can or will argue me on this point that "Nah bro... you're wrong", "Nah Bro.. ""Nah Bro.... It ain't like this" but it is like this. Stop lying to yourself

3. Without a Brand, Your Blog Will Sink

There is no such thing as Being Jack of All Trades on steemit. It doesn't work. It just doesn't. Clueless people like me tend to write about everything that they can and that too in a limited fashion, yet they can never stick to one topic.

Contrary to what you might think that having a blog with so many posts on different topics looks more "Lit", Nope its doesn't. Infact you will start losing your followers if you keep on changing the topics frequently.

Here, I would like to share an example with you of @infinityroad. My very good friend Jason, aka @infinityroad started his steemit journey somewhere around when I joined the platform. He started out like the rest of us. He used to write about himself, write articles for contests, post guides etc etc.. But somehow he felt like that there is something thats pulling him back and finally he found it. Now he has become a full time DTuber with his channel called "DTube Fitness". Suffice to say that Jason has found his Hail Mary and has absolutely nailed it. Now he has an ever growing fan following and he is on his way to become a successful steemian.

Having a brand definitely helps so if you haven't picked it out yet, You might want to.

Conclusion

I had few other things in mind but I wanted to keep this post crisp and interesting. So there you go folks. If you ever wanted a sincere advice (or 3), from this post, you might able to learn something that I learned in a span of 8 months.

Until Next Time
JBN

Sort:  

you pointed out bitter truth. I often see big guns only vote big guns. In my views beside all those things like advertisement there is a need to develop your own community who help each other just like big guns do. Let's win together @jbn

"There is no such thing as Being Jack of All Trades on steemit. It doesn't work. It just doesn't. Clueless people like me tend to write about everything that they can and that too in a limited fashion, yet they can never stick to one topic." I agree to this sir, so true and in my case, I've been busy in my new work and I barely had the time to steem unlike before where I can do steeming while working hahahaha :-D For now, I am into completion of the challenge, it is actually an awesome challenge and I want to ask for your permission because I want to nominate you, sir :-) If its ok with you. God bless po :-)

Haha.. go ahead po.. i guess we know each other well enough not to ask permissions before tagging one another in contests and stuff.. thank you po.. best wishes to you and your nanay :)

yeheyyyy!!! thank you so much, sir! hahaha I will nominate you tomorrow its my 7th day :-) thank you so much po & God bless you and your wonderful family :-)

You hit the nail on the head. Go public with.your article and have a unique brand. Thanks @jbn

You nailed it, @jbn ! Advertising plays a huge role indeed.
Saving this in case I forgot.
Thank you so much.
One love!

Yuppp.. all those “dont send your links out and blah blah blah” are a bunch of lies.. it would be true in an ideal environment where you put your piece out and wait for the people to come on your blog and engage with / appreciate your posts. But its not like this.. thank you so much.. i appreciate your comment ;)

I'll just reference the last one and say that I haven't really built a brand yet either. I tend to be interested in lots of things, but it seems like silver is the one that I like the most. I should probably just stick to posting on that and see where it goes. Thanks for the advice.

I hope the day starts looking up. :)

Yess.. building a brand is always best. However i dont think i can do that.. with so much going on in my life between work and other things, its gonna be hard for me to pick one brand and be consistent with it.. but i wish you the very best of luck..

I honestly like how you talk about random different things. I know I don't hit all your posts, but I can't remember being disappointed when I have. I think you have a relatable perspective and if you don't end up building a specific brand, I think you'll still do fine.

Well thank you very much .. never thought that my posts were that good ^_^

Your blog is always a good source of learning how to grow on Steemit, so does this post. Such an motivative and educative one. After reading several posts you sounds like a mentor to me now lol. Btw you created a cool thumbnail on the left bottom of the first photo. Lol

Haha.. thank you.. i learned this from @ilyastarar.. he taught me to creatw your own thumbnail images instead of using the ones available on the internet.. you can do that too on free online tool called “canva”.

Oh thanks for letting me know. I use canva all the time but havent discovered it yet :)

Valuable lessons to be successful in steemit. I appreciate your useful information. Thanks a lot sir @jbn for sharing with us.

Thank you msena.. i always feel glad when you visit my blog . :)

Im a newbie here lot of things to learn
Thank you very much for sharing this..
God bless you Sir..

Thank you very much.. blessings upon you too

Thank you very much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14