You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE CORRUPTED STATE OF MIND - Some Whales Are Stealing Our Rewards -

in #steemit6 years ago

I am doing my best to organically grow my steemit blog and have recognized all of the problems you've mentioned. I also recognize the fact that the topics I discuss are unpopular, which certainly contributes to the slow growth of my blog, but I digress.

It's funny... the potential rewards are the main attraction to steemit, not the opportunity to produce quality content.

If the steem currency's value is based on the value of the platform itself, this behavior is definitely 'shooting yourself in the foot'.

Another problem I would like to add is that whales make gigantic payouts for well written, yet useless posts... $350 for your trip out for lunch? I think some with a high number of followers pretty much make posts about anything as every post makes them a decent payout, both due to the problems mentioned above as well as over-glorification of whales. This results in new users expecting to get 100 upvotes for a picture of a sandwich - promoting the idea that short meaningless posts deserve payouts and corrupting the pool from the other direction.

How many people upvote and comment on irrelevant posts from whales hoping to one day get a high paying upvote in return from the whale?

Thanks for the truthful perspective! I wish my "real" vote was worth more than under 1 cent.

You have an interesting blog, see you around!

Sort:  

Hey man, sad to hear you struggling, but everyone is! Check me out, I got almost 5k followers and I still struggle. The problem is that there is no real curation here and it's hella hard to get on the top from all of the 300+$ whale circle jerk posts.

I see you write the most about cannabis. There is an audience for that here. You just need to find it.

I think some with a high number of followers pretty much make posts about anything as every post makes them a decent payout, both due to the problems mentioned above as well as over-glorification of whales.

Followers mean nothing here, the only $ they get is from their "friends" who jerk their cocks

Thanks for the truthful perspective! I wish my "real" vote was worth more than under 1 cent.

Np bud (pun intended) , I'm awlays truthful with my readers. You will never fin no BS here. Only my opinions based on facts. The $ of your vote doesn't mean much to me, it's the intention that counts. Thanks for that!

Glad you like my blog! Cya around :)

I'm not too concerned about struggling as I am producing posts which are about important issues that need to be addressed by humanity, not necessarily to earn anything (luckily lol). Cannabis is not my main focus, Freedom and Truth are!

I chose steem because of the (supposed) focus on quality content and the lack of censorship that is plaguing mainstream media, social and otherwise. If one or two people can take something away that they can then apply to increasing freedom in their own lives I feel I have succeeded.

The lack of exposure is really what makes it tough. I would rather see my post make $5 and get 100 upvotes than make $20 and get 25 upvotes.

There is some great content by some awesome people on here, it just takes a while to find, and of course everything produced is submerged in this pool.

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56792.41
ETH 2444.34
BNB 487.19
SBD 2.39