You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: why I think BUYING UPVOTES is ruining Steemit for the rest of us

in #steemit6 years ago

All this bought and paid for crap is really against the idea of steemit (at least how it was presented to me).

I personally refuse to unconditionally support curation trails as this leads to votes going to content I don't value. I would never set an auto vote, I have never paid for clicks and never will.

I am willing to support quality content at any chance I get!

Sort:  

bottts.jpg
Not to pick on this guy in particular, but I saw this "trending" or "hot" post recently. This is the kind of stuff that dominates Steemit - information about how to make more money on Steemit. Outsiders see this, and wonder "how does any of that interest ME?" and for the most part, it doesn't. We're a site about ourselves. An echo chamber animal farm, quickly becoming a ponzi scheme.
I try and contribute as much content as I can that ISN'T about how to click one's way to prosperity.

It's pretty funny that many of the people treating steemit like a business are missing the one thing that makes a business successful in the long run - quality service or products.

Since steemit is a platform based on content, content is the product or service.

Circle jerking your way to up-votes around low-quality posts may result in a short-term payout but ultimately will devalue the platform as whole, to the point where steem will be virtually worthless.

The rewards pool may be doing as much harm as good. I am really hoping the platform will "self adjust" in the near future. If not, I guess it was designed to fail and we will need to work towards developing a platform more suitable to quality.

I agree, there's no way to circlejerk to prosperity. There's inefficiency built into the circlejerk system - it's doomed to fail eventually. You're right, CONTENT is what this site produces, it's you and I who power it. It's why readers come to it, it's why people sign up, it's where upvotes are earned (the ones that aren't bought!)
Maybe there will be an adjustment of some kind. I think there are too many good people here for it just to fizzle. I hope something happens soon, so I know to either pour things into Steemit, or diversify away.

Always be diversified...

BOOM, that's a 100% upvote comment, right there.
(Sorry it's only worth 6c currently.... it was 30c just a few months ago...)
Glad to have found you.

No apology accepted lol, my vote is only worth 1c!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57328.77
ETH 3111.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42