Why earning up votes on Steemit feels like pulling teeth for me?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I don't want to complain about the platform, but why is it so hard to earn money on here by posting material? I just joined one week ago and have yet to see one of my posts earn a decent amount of $$$. The most I have earned so far is $3.93 on one post that took 5 hours to write.

Earn pennies per hour on some posts

Some of my posts have generated $0 dollars while others have generated maybe .17 cents or .12 cents when they took a lot longer to prepare then was worth the time to post the material. What do I need to do to get my posts to stand out? Is it that there just are not enough whales? Or is it that there are not enough active users on the website yet?

These are my two posts that earned .12 cents and .17 cents respectively. You can view the full article for my flower garden post here, my macaroni and cheese recipe here.

Was my post just not good quality?

What exactly are Steem voters looking for? I feel like this might not be worth my time using the site if you work 5-8 hours to earn pennies on a post. If it is to hard for people to earn on posts then I feel like a lot of people will just stay on Facebook and Twitter but that is just my opinion.

Is there a better redistribution system?

I know whales and dolphins are just trying to control the quality of the site and only let the very best content make it to the front pages, but I feel like new users of the site have no voice. I got a lot of votes on some posts but the reward was nothing because they are all new users like me. How about changing it so that every vote has an equal amount of weight on each post? Would this be better? I feel like this Steemit system is the same as the system we already have in America, 1% of the population controls 99% of all the wealth.

Don't want to make anyone angry

I don't want to make anyone angry but I am just bringing up a valid point, that a lot of new users have no voice and cannot get to the front pages unless you control a lot of Steem power. I hope that I can start earning more soon. Maybe it is just me, maybe I am to boring in my posts. Maybe I just need to change it up a bit and create different material.

Sort:  

How long do you spend on other social media sites? The idea here is not that you will get paid. The idea is that you most certainly could, for great content or honestly maybe because you got lucky. On most other social media sites you do not get paid anything, ever.
Keep working on your posts. Eventually you might strike a chord. I totally understand wanting the cash right now, and that approach hasn't worked well for very many people.

Yeah you are right I need to keep my head up. Facebook only gives me

hi jassy, i totally agree with you. maybe after a while of steemits existence this will get better, i´m not sure, but hoping so.

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 5.7 and reading ease of 83%. This puts the writing level on par with Jane Austen and JK Rowling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 54635.52
ETH 2893.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03