You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 👧 Girls: We don't need no education? Steemucation idea! (Original photos & thoughts)

in #steemit7 years ago

I didn't realize there was still such an imbalance. I have read many things about China's child policy and a general knowledge of how males have always been favored over females due to their ability to work and make money for the family, but I didn't know it was this bad. I think its great that you are bringing some awareness to it and that you are also doing your part to help out. Keep it up

Sort:  

Thank you for your thoughtful comment @jasonshick. This mentality of giving importance to the male child is seen across many countries in Asia/ Middle East. Women are regularly seen as second rate citizens. I am not a great activist but do try to voice my opinion in the hopes that word will spread

Every little bit helps. I currently live in South Korea where it has been a typically male dominated society. There are still huge gaps with regards to pay and respect level, but Korean women are becoming empowered day by day, good to see

Good to know that Korean women are becoming more empowered. Thanks for your perspective.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56847.11
ETH 2970.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29