You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Being a Truck Driver is ONE OF THE WORLDS MOST DANGEROUS JOBS!

in #steemit5 years ago

Extremely accurate and well documented article @venuspcs. I retired with 41 years as a commercial driver, having done almost every single job in the trucking industry, and complete with driver training and running almost anything on the road except for the "special rigs", as in way over length or height or width (such as cranes or over 6 axles). I started driving when the trucks were narrow bodies, had 209 "fuel squeezer" engines, and Brownie auxiliary transmissions, and wouldn't get out of their own ways. But as time went on, now they have automatic transmissions, and horsepower up the kazoo. I have been passed in my personal car by trucks pulling triples and running 80 mph.
As far as retiring, you're a very smart man. You might seek and follow @tinyhousecryptos, he posted about a week and a half or two weeks ago about his tiny house in Kentucky. He just started here on steemit, but I suspect he will post more about his housing set up as he goes along here...
ps., I turned in my fully loaded CDL after retiring, never do it again.
Be safe out there on the road, brother.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69447.18
ETH 3689.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.30