You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Self-Voting: Scammy Behavior, Rational ROI, or Something Else?

in #steemit7 years ago
Let me know your thoughts in the comments. When is self-voting okay, if ever?

I think in general upvoting own articles (not comments) is OK (as the system allows it), as long as they are not written with the only purpose to upvote them, like you can see for example here:
https://steemit.com/@sandrino (every day many minimalistic posts with no text at all, just some YouTube videos from different authors, but all upvoted with full strength).

I consider the mixture of having less but more powerful 100 % upvotes available since HF 19 to be very unsatisfactory: especially many newbies solely upvote their numerous comments instead of the commented articles (I can deliver examples if you like). That can't be the sense of this platform!

Even if I think it is normal that authors upvote their own articles ...

  • ... firstly I simply would eliminate the option of self-voting (if not there, it can't be abused anymore) and ...
  • ... secondly would revert the stronger impact of 100 % upvotes since HF 19 (which strongly invites self-voting). I explained my concerns more detailed some days ago.
  • Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.28
    TRX 0.13
    JST 0.032
    BTC 61285.21
    ETH 2922.72
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 3.66