The virtuous cycle of upvoting your comment section...

in #steemit6 years ago

comment.jpg

What if tomorrow, STEEM was at 10$?

Keep that in mind as I am talking about the power of upvoting the comment section of your blog...

As a blogger on steemit, your number one asset is your followers and the people who engage with your content. This is why I make a point of upvoting good comments. As I mentioned in my previous post, some smartass started front-runing my upvotes on my comment section for a profit (and therefore making extra reward...which is awesome).

Now, I want to draw your attention to how much a simple $1 upvote on your comment can actually be worth to you.

Imagine if you only accumulated the rewards in SteemPower during that time

I have absolutely no doubt, with how things are going, to see STEEM get to $10 per unit. It could take a year or two but it's bound to happen.

That means that every $1 made during that time would actually be worth $10.

Since I try to write 5 times a week, that $5 a week would actually now be worth $50... only to have commented on my posts during that time.

What's in it for me?

For those who leave a thoughtful comment that adds to the discussion, I am more than happy to upvote for $1, $2 or even $3. It makes sense for me to make an incentive for good conversations to happen.

But in the future, what will it mean for me as a blogger?

Once STEEM is at $10, YOUR voting power would have multiplied by 10X! That means that someone with 1000 STEAM POWER will be able to reward $1 per vote when they are at 100% voting power.

tenor.gif

Okay, let's break this down:

If STEEM is at 10$

  • The value of the rewards you have received from commenting would be worth 10X more
  • My 5% upvote then will be worth 10$. (I would love to upvote $10 on good comments)
  • Anyone with 1000 SP will be able to upvote a post at 100% and give a reward of $1.
  • Someone in a poor country could live off the money made by commenting on my blog
Sort:  

It is worth it to upvote creators/comments that you enjoy, not just for profit but for community growth. It is good to get feedback on work and it is good to engage people. Commenting back and upvoting good comments helps also when you just upload a post. By having more comments sometimes people click on your post just to see what everybody is talking about. Some people are here just for the comment sections and curation. If people see you upvote good feedback they are encouraged to leave good feedback too instead of spam.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84