Build your reputation and followers first and foremost

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Steemit had a burst of new users joining the platform and I always enjoy giving advice. In order to be successful on the platform, you first need to build a follower base, then create a reputation of good content creation and never ever plagiarize :) I hope to assist some of the Noobs on the platform with this post.


Image Credit

Steemit is a reputation economy.

I joined the platform in July 2016 and I have made many new friends, learnt so much new things and I am till today enjoying every day on the platform. I did not post for a few months, as I joined my own company on a full time basis at the end of February 2017. During this time I really had to focus my attention to the company.

I must however say that there is a lot of new members on the platform, and this made me think of writing a post about assisting new users which joined. I have written many posts on how important a following and reputation is on the platform.

Here are a few of those posts:

Steemit is a reputation economy
Content is King but you should build a reputation first
Writing good blog content start here

Never get discouraged - Just keep on posting

I introduced my sister @giantbear to the platform in September 2016 and she is a very good of someone who has built her following base through hard work and many post. She now has more than 500 followers and still going strong. Remember all of us start somewhere. Never get discouraged, it doesn't matter how many times you write content without being noticed. Just learn from your mistakes, read a lot of content to see what works for you. Please follow here @giantbear ... She writes great content.


Image Credit

Write about what you know and enjoy and not for rewards!

I have found that when I write about what I know well, I get better rewards. It is definitely not only about the rewards, but it is nice to be rewarded by the people of the platform. This platform and the community on the platform, really cares about the platform. Steemit is here for the long run, and it is not going anywhere. The community will ensure that. We just need to assist each other and push through the difficult times. Steemit is very much like building your own business in the real world, with one main difference ... you have a global community helping you as we all have the same goal and that is Let's take Steemit mainstream!

Never plagirize

The one thing that can end your journey on Steemit is when you steal other peoples content and try to be rewarded for it. I have seen this many times on the platform. This will be your end.

Image Credit

Make friends

I have written a post about this a while ago and I can tell you that I have made very good friends on this platform. I do not have any idea, what they look like, but friends we are … even if they are sitting on a different spot on the planet and have different opinions about life… All we need to do is respect each other's opinions. @kyriacos, I really hope that we will meet in person at one of the Steemit events.

Most importantly enjoy the journey


Image Credit

If you have any comments or questions please ask in the comment section. Please feel free to contact me through Steemit Chat … my handle is @jacor there as well. I will try to assist where I can and where I can't help I will probably know somebody who can.

Happy Steeming!


Sort:  

This definitely works! 9 months on and still moving (slowly) forward!

Indeed @onetree, great to see you around :)

Thanx for the advice. I never think of the rewards when posting. I just write about what I feel at the moment or what's keeping my mind busy. When submitted it oviously is a good feeling when other people like your writing.

Thanks you for the comment @s3rg3. I do the same. I just write what I feel like on the day :) and yes ... it is actually very nice when other people like you content :)

Thank you for sharing this helpful info! UV & a follow from me

It is a great pleasure @lanceman and thanks for the follow :) I always try to write posts which could help people on the platform in some or other way :)

Great advice :-)

Thanks for the comment @playfulfoodie . You've just been followed :)

Aww thanks!
I cannot start following you, seeing as I was already following you :-)

It's a great pleasure :)

Very good advice. Very well written and easy to understand.

Good advice man.People should consider these things.

Good advice for the new and not so new. Like I always said, just enjoy the ride. I know. For you, it's enjoy the journey

Thank you very much @ace108

An honest and very useful advice, also one of the few things I've noticed after being on Steemit for a few days. It's always about the community, not about you. Helping each other is the key :)

This is very true @jznsamuel. The community stands together on Steemit :)

Excellent advice... will definitely follow it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56098.81
ETH 2411.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36