You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rome and Steemit were not built in a day. The rise and fall of Rome and how Steemit can learn from this story.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Delightful post. Thank you. Now I had read there are many things that went into the fall of Rome. I am fascinated by this part of history. But I had heard that they were overproducing their currency and that devalued it to the point of uselessness. But ROME never really fell, it just moved to Constantinople and let the Vikings sack the West Coast for slaves and rewards which eventually made their way back to Rome/Constantinople. I love talkin history. Thank you for this appealing post. Followed!

Sort:  

Thank you, indeed Roman history is fascinating.
I deliberately simplified the case in order to get across a message. Of course there were many factors that lead to Romes demise and indeed there was a time were the over produced. The point I was focusing on was that as long as the money supply is controlled and no interest is added on top then you can keep on top of inflation. Also that the value of a currency is related to the nations health itself.. Ultimately it is human greed that destroys economies.

As a Norwegian myself, I must apologize for sacking the West coast 😃
Cheers @jacobts

Apology accepted. And comment enjoyed! Appreciates your post. And Followed! :)

lol! thanks man, much appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69135.35
ETH 3742.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67