How to Comment on a Post

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

It has come to my attention that many new Steemit users seem to have no idea about the unwritten rules of forum etiquette, so I will endeavor to write them down here.

1. Be relevant

Don't just say, "Nice post!"

Say what you liked about the post, support the position presented, or offer a polite and coherent rebuttal to points with which you disagree.

2. Be civil

Don't call names, make threats, wallow in fallacious nonsense, or try to stalk or troll other users. Differing opinions don't need to lead to vitriolic arguments. Keep it simple. State your argument, cite your evidence, and be prepared to offer supporting arguments. Or just ignore the post altogether and get on with your life.

3. Don't beg

Don't request upvotes, follows, resteems, or clicks on your embedded links to your own posts. Quid-pro-quo upvote exchange demands are simply rude.

4. Embed links to your own work wisely

In fact, I advise against linking your own posts at all unless they are especially relevant to the conversation, and then ideally only when it's something past payout anyway so it's clear you're not trying to game the system. For example,

 I really liked your article on photography in New England.
 [I went to the same area last September,](URL link to blog post)
 and wondered whether you saw any of these same places?

This is relevant, civil, and offers the option to click the link only as clarification while stating it is not a vote-begging scheme.

5. Reply!

Respond when others comment on your posts, reply to comments on other posts, and engage with others who reply to your comments on other posts. This is where Steemit relationships are created.

A note on comments and upvotes

You can upvote comments just like you upvote posts. Upvoting people who make good comments as well as conversing with them encourages more good comments, and can count as good curation too.

I personally try to avoid upvoting contentless flattery comments, and have considered flagging some of them as spam, but I remain unsure whether that is the best course of action.

Input on comment etiquette, upvote/flag opinions, and other relevant matters are welcomed below. If you have written something on the subject, embedded links are also welcome.


image credit


SteemVerify

If you like this post, please comment, follow, and resteem!

Sort:  

I think using the mute button is enough most of the time, heaps of new users around at the moment and watching some of them comment makes me cringe sometimes

I'm new here and try to make thoughtful comments. When people make inane comments on my posts, I mute or ignore depending on what I find. I've muted just a few people and when I went back to check them just now - I am pleased with my decision. Most of those I muted are completely grayed out. So, far, I have a lot less spam issues here than on my other platforms. Very happy after 11 days :)

I read the post of someone who did use the flag on someone else and then regretted it. Taking someone from 50 - 30 - 15 was an unwanted power trip for him. I will reserve my flagging for violence or hatred. I have not seen anything like that yet. I have all the nsfw stuff completely blocked already because I am a prudish person compared to the rest of the world.

I'm afraid spammers don't have time to read your post, they're too busy copy/pasting their incredibly original and engaging comment!

And that kind of behavior is what flags are for.

Nice post!
Just kidding :)
Everyone should take these advices seriously. Comments are meant to give more value to the post and make it constructive.
Thanks for posting :)

Valuable tips. The 'please follow/ upvote' requests are kind of annoying and totally redundant anyway. Post good content and the upvotes will come.
Have a great day!

yea, they add no real 'value' to the post at all. It's all part of the selfish nature of so many people in the world today; A vote should come naturally. If someone votes good; if not all good too -

YES, YES, YES! This is important info for all users!

I advise against linking your own posts at all unless they are especially relevant to the conversation, and then ideally only when it's something past payout anyway so it's clear you're not trying to game the system.

That was a great idea to add that bit of advice and provide info on how to do it properly!

Nice Post!
Hahah, just kidding.. Seriously, thanks for the info!
From now on I'll try to make more relevant comments.

Very nice tips for all members on how to comment. In case we don't understand the topic it is better not to comment rather than saying 'nice post'. Thank you.

I'm going to break all those rules in this single comment!

Or not.

Thanks for the etiquette review.

Thanks for not breaking the rules... yet, anyway...

THIS is what needs to seen by all the new users. ive tried to write something like this, but it escalated into something different during the process.

such subject requires good writer, and why not - a page on steemit.com, where people could send new users daily.

Unfortunately, even the best introductory info posts tend to disappear after payout.

yes, thats why all the new users must go through making same mistakes. thing is, many of them aint aware of what is this all about, i talked to few of them, and they mostly dont realize at all they are doing it wrong. i dont flag them, but i can screenshot and upload an article like this one, and send to them instead of flag or arguing. i believe it could work with at least half of them. effective way could also be rewarding new users who doesnt fall for these mistakes. but i guess thats technically impossible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56934.21
ETH 3091.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38