The #circlejerk needs to END NOW!

in #steemit8 years ago

This is the last Steemit related post I will submit for a very long time.

I'm annoyed, but not for the reasons you're likely thinking. I've done fairly well on my posts. I don't mind chatting about Steemit. I'm very much into crypto and love reading about it as well. I enjoy the development topics, the nerd discussions and the #circlejerk overall. It's just my cup of tea - truth be told.

Steemit Circlejerk

However, 99.9999% of the world doesn't give two shits!

The reason I'm taking the time to write this post is because, not only am I powered up and vested in the success of Steemit, but primarily because I genuinely want to see it succeed for the sake of the entire crypto ecosystem. And so should you!

Quick story

I was able to get my girlfriend to sign up for Steemit the other day which took a lot of convincing. However, Steemit has not been successful in keeping her around. She may come back one day, but may not. That's unfortunate, not for me or for her, or any personal reasons; not even because she has the most amazing things to say and you'd be missing out. Although, I think that could be the case for some.

The real reason is,

"Steemit isn't for me. None of the posts appeal to me. It's mostly people that are only interested in stuff you like, computer, internet stuff."

Girl Huh?

I'm not too proud or disillusioned to admit that she's right! And that it's a real issue that needs to be addressed. It doesn't need to be met with, "give it time", "that's just how it is", "we're taking it slow", "it's just the core users, the diversity will come", or whatever other excuse can be conjured up. These are all self-serving excuses that do not do the community a service as a whole.

These excuses are hurting the value of any STEEM you have or will have.

Steem only has speculative value. That's it! Without speculative value and a strong supply/demand market, the community will not survive, your STEEM will be worthless.

Now, I think the economics of STEEM and Steemit are borderline genius. Hats off to @dan and @ned and the rest of the Steemit team on this. I've already mentioned to a number of people in my circles how well it was designed, before the launch and it did exactly what it was designed to do. So, please do not misunderstand me here.

Steem Marketcap

The genius and the problem is that it's based on speculative value.

What that means is that if people aren't continuing to speculate value within STEEM, the overall marketcap would drop. This would have subsequent sell-offs, albeit minimized by the, well designed, vesting of Steem Power. However, over time, it could completely diminish value and overall interest in STEEM and the traction that's been generated thus far.

So, you may say that speculation has been great and the value has sky-rocketed lately. I'd be amiss if I didn't completely agree with you. It has, and again, that's attributable to the economics of STEEM - well done. However, there is nothing keeping this from fading at this point, just slowly and painfully. And this is not what anyone wants to happen!

In order for continued speculative value to be created with Steemit, there has to be more people interested in owning STEEM for personal/business and/or financial reasons. Now, it could be said that there are plenty of other people involved in crypto that could continue to provide value. But I'd argue that's a very limited number, the valuation has already jumped a lot, and the crypto community likes to hedge a lot. Simply put, it's not the future and shouldn't be the focus, even in the short term.

Now, you may be saying, "Okay great dude, just get to the point - what are you proposing."

Well, I'm glad you asked, because it's quite simple really. You see, the issue is perception. When someone comes to steemit.com, the first thing they see is a list of posts. If those posts do not peak their interest in any way, they're likely to leave. You could say, "that's okay, we need engaged people that will contribute not window shoppers", but you couldn't be any more incorrect.

Steemit needs to engage as many people across as many diverse lines as possible, ultimately. Now, initially, it's great to have really devoted and engaged people within smaller "steems" (like sub-reddits?), that's the best way to grow any community. But right now, we have people talking about STEEM, STEEM, Crypto, and STEEM. #circlejerk Sure, there are some other articles about travel and a token makeup tutorial, etc. But the majority of the articles are about STEEM.

To someone coming to Steemit for the first time, an introduction could be nice, but for the most part anything more than that is overkill. And if they want to read more than that, they can dig into it. People need to be greeted with topics and details that they actually care about, topics that engage them, let them know they're welcome here, there is a place for them, a happy home with trees and flowers and chirping birds and basket weavers who sit and smile and twiddle their thumbs and toes. Their Steemit!

Job Diversity

And that finally leads me to my proposal

Every new account created on Steemit should be required to choose (say) 5 different tags/topics. From those topics, their home feed would be automatically populated with posts related to just those topics. That's it.

This solves a number of other issues addressed recently

Aside from displaying content that is relevant to everyone that becomes a steemer, this solves a number of other recent concerns:

  • Unfairness with SP weighting
    • Everything will be more dynamic. So the SP up-voting will be more distributed for one, but will also be more abstracted, since what you see is related to what you're interested in. Therefore, what you post will be compared to fellow posts in similar steems. Additionally, the SP votes within these steems will be more distributed as well.
  • Same posts get all the upvotes
    • The home feed would be custom per steemer. So the votes will naturally spread out more. This creates more people getting more rewards, improving churn, engagement, and creating Steemit ambassadors in the process.
  • Everyone writing about the same topics #sheeple
    • This one is pretty clear. Because everyone sees certain topics getting upvoted, they write similar topics. And because the topics getting the most upvotes are ones that speak to the SP elite, they're naturally falling within certain similarly held topics. This is also changed because people are seeing a more diverse set of topics, so what they choose to write about is likely to be something within those topics, not the same thing as everyone else.

I'm sure there are some others that I'm leaving out here, but those reasons alone are good enough! Additionally, what I've proposed is 1 day of development work tops. It's a simple change that can make all the world of difference now and improve the community as a whole, taking Steemit to new heights.

As of now, I will be flagging all topics on the home feed that are Steemit related and aren't considered important for people to read. I do hope that the Steemit team will implement this simple change. However, until that point, I hope you'll consider joining me so that we can curate content that appeals to a more diverse set of steemers and improves the diversity and overall value of Steemit. Thank you!

Sort:  

Fine, upvoted because you've stimulated discussion and made an interesting proposal, but two points:

(1) Some newbies come here and get excited. Let them. I'm not going to rain on their party.

(2) Distinguish between circle jerk and informational postings. Yes, experienced users tire of the simple 'how to' stuff, but it is essential to have on the boards regularly. If you don't like it, ignore it, but don't downvote/flag it.

There is no stickied content and finding old posts is a pain in the ass. Yet we are getting hundreds to thousands of new people coming to the site daily. There is a demand for "how to" posts about how Steemit works. Yesterday, another writer posted some information about how the voting system works, and to see the types of comments he got in response proves to me that a ton of people genuinely didn't know (before reading his article) when they were supposed to be voting.

If you're downvoting that kind of content, then you doing a disservice to Steemit and to people who do not yet understand how to make the most of the opportunity it offers.

All valid points - almost talked about this. People can always click into a topic/"steem" for Steemit, or "Getting Started", etc. While that may not be obvious, in addition to this proposal, maybe stickied content, or a "Getting Started" topic should be added as well.

However, I do not think that because of this reason, the overall experience of steemers, new and old, should be compromised.

Yes, you are right, but from my discussions with others, it does not seem like very many people are really browsing the tags seriously enough yet. We should use them and we will (have to) use them as more content gets posted, but I am a little wary of relying on them at this point for people to find informational postings. We certainly do need stickied content; it would put me halfway out of a job (as a writer who has done far more 'how to' stuff than I ever wanted), but I'd support some stickies in a heartbeat.

I don't disagree - I think this is important as well. I absolutely do NOT want new users being lost or confused. The beginner experience is critical to the success and in everyone's best interest. I do think these two should be done in concert.

I respect your reasons for upvoting here, but I put serious work into the posts that @jacobt flagged. Whatever else your upvote does, it validates his abusive flagging.

Sorry for that - really. I did explain the reasoning for that - not that I don't consider it well done content. :/

Absolutely agree with the need for stickied content and a better user onboarding process.

Even if a user's first load of the site started with an "admin" tag of sorts that contained great how-tos and information posts, I think that would go a long way to getting users up to speed and increasing the value of their contributions faster.

If I could give this more than one vote I would. I'm a minnow so they don't count much anyway. At least not yet.

I am going to speak from the perspective of a new user who is not in the tech world and, frankly, I know little about crypto and I find the topic rather boring. What @jacobt has suggested is quite valid. He is suggesting that the new user experience be improved upon. And he is right. There are many social medias out there, why should anyone stick around on Steemit? I would go so far as to say that of the 250 that join each day another 250 or more don't bother and they don't come back. And they tell their friends to not bother.

I am only here because a whale shared so much enthusiasm I came in to see what it was about. Although I signed up early enough I did nothing with it and I'm okay with that. I may never do much with it. But back to the new user experience.....

I realize that Steemit is new and experiencing growing pains. However, feedback from users is valuable if Steemit (or anything for that matter) is serious about longevity. So here is mine:

  1. The site is not user friendly. There are no centralized areas of Help nor a contact to reach out to for help.
  2. The initial news feed is boring for anyone not into crypto or technical. I get it why his girlfriend did not stick around and probably won't come back. It would be more interesting if upon arrival I saw the tags/categories to select from rather than only a screen full of what the crypto/technical crowd likes.
  3. The follow function does not do a damn thing. I am not alerted when someone I follow posts something new.
    Finding a user or a particular post is very difficult to do.

All of these issues come down to organization. How the site is organized. And this place needs some organization for sure. Steemit needs to hire me! LOL!

I plan to continue to visit for now and perhaps post some more but I am an older woman with patience and curiosity. I see that this could be the start of something wonderful.

Most people are not patient. And it WILL take people to make this work. Arguing that it is new or that the crypto/technology feed will drop away will not happen unless you get enough non-crypto/tech people to not only visit but to actually stay and become active.

Human nature is what it is and Steemit will not change that. Take some lessons from Facebook and other sites. You don't have to like them to learn from them.

Damn, I should have just made this a post! LOL!

I would give you a spiffy gif or something but I have to work at doing that and I'm too tired to bother tonight.

Thank you for the post @jacobt. You obviously hit a button with me! I seriously doubt that you and I are the only ones with these concerns.

Those are all valid points.

I'm writing about gardening stuff because it's my passion and I want to see more content.

That's the thing - write about what you know. You could be just the expert someone is looking for. These topics do hold great value for many, as long as we are not too distracted by being the "first" voters because that just encourages a "what's in it for me" mentality rather than taking the time to comment and add contributive discourse to the discussion.

That is the exact look some of my friends gave me after seeing this site...

Great ideas. Getting new people to customize their feed immediately would be a great way to ensure they see at least one or two things that interest them.

Flagging peoples posts is not the way to do it. A filter checklist for the default sub that blocks nsfw, steem*, rape, and politics by default would work better.

Flagging is the built in system for depreciating content. It is not just 'the way' to do it but the only way to do it. If the developers had something else in mind they should have offered it, or they should offer it.

Go throw a few downvotes around for stuff that is simply miscategorized by new users then. You'll find out why it's not a good idea pretty quick.

Its not mis-categorization I have an issue with. its shitposting and using your considerable marketing clout and steem power with a group of like minded malefactors to ensure your shit posting is profitable at the expense of good content.

I don't think I've downed a new user. There is a clear distinction between people trying to use the site and people gaming the technology.

Steemit really is a very ... shall we say 'limited' social media platform. It lacks most (all) of the features we'd demand from a platform if we weren't crypto peeps or already making serious dosh from early adopter position.

For steemit to gain any serious ground as a social media platform its going to need to implement social media tools very quickly. The currency feature is a novelty but it wont last. Especially when we watch the way content is being favored.

I agree with this entirely. Steemit needs to implement some way to truly customize and build a community. What I've noticed is that the potential subversive value of Steemit is being missed out on entirely right now. The posts that are being rewarded financially are the same kinds of posts that get rewarded in the "real world". The posts that engage heterosexual bro-dudes, etc. I want to see this community grow to embrace all walks of life. All kinds of people. This place could be hugely subversive to the financial reward systems as they exist currently, but right now it's just feeding the same old/same old things that get rewarded everywhere else. If it continues on that path then it's lost the coolest potential it ever had--overthrowing the system.

The point about the 5 suggested tags when people signup makes total sense. Has this not been implemented yet?

Your proposal for requiring people to choose categories is a little extreme; however, it would be excellent if people were allowed to choose categories and then a recommender system gave people a personalized page. All good, and I'd love to see it done.

But come on - flagging posts just because they don't make the front page look the way you want it to look? Not cool. Not cool at all. But, I guess running a social media service on a blockchain means we have to live with people being jerks. I'll write a game theory article on it. ;)

I realize that my downvoting my seem like I'm being a jerk. However, it's been said and intended for that to be used for other purposes aside from the content being bad or abuse of the system. In my opinion, those articles don't need to surface as such, and therefore, the tool designed to address that is the flag.

I'm aware that makes me look like a jerk. That's not my intent, despite what it seems.

Downvoting because you're 2-1/2 months late with this and it's been said 42 times already. You're basically doing what you're complaining about. You picked a topic that's been beat to death and you capitalized on it. Congrats!

This is nothing original, just regurgitated tripe I spewed months ago when I invented the reverse #circlejerk. I should have copyrighted it. =b

certainly don't claim to have "invented" the #circlejerk. I've been saying for this a while as well. I think we even chatted about it in Slack. However, I knew I wasn't going to be able to reach as many people without putting it all into a thorough post. So, I did that.

Well, that's fair I guess. What's done is done, I've now received my payout that you reduced. :)

But let's be very clear: you are penalizing content creators for the inadequacies of the site's design.

I understand that. I suggest writing content for the site that benefits the community at large and overall progress instead of appealing to all the nerds here today for some coin. That's my point. I realize that it comes across as vindictive, but it does have a purpose that I do see as valid.

Thanks for the advice, but I'm not going to abandon my popular project in order to conform to your narrow view of what's appropriate for the community. I'll write out of my expertise; that happens to be the intersection of computer science and game theory.

FWIW, I don't know why you annoy me so much - you actually sound pretty reasonable and decent.

I love this! People need to branch out! I've been writing about my life, art, reviews on products and other stuff! I hope others will join too! I do like the Steemit how to posts, for those who are confused and need help. But I think we need to dig deep and read the other posts about a variety of subjects!

I'm writing about self-publishing and my photography work. Yes, I've had a few post about Steemit. There is other good content out there, as more people join it will be noticeable I think.

ya 100% agree with you. Ive noticed the same thing and made a post a qhile back about it. steemit currently is only catering for so many different people. I said we need to be able to filter content to show only things we are interested in. But maybe the 5 categories will work.

Nice post though, take my up vote.

There is a 'recommended' button on the dropdown menu.

Yea, actually saw that the other day. I don't think it's obvious, took me a while before I found it. This same filter could be used though.

I know its not the last of the Mahicans but it will do for beta.

Thank you! I haven't seen this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67888.24
ETH 3518.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71