My first month using Steemit & Dtube: A Crude Analysis

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I started using these platforms for a variety of reasons and although I would like to say that generating revenue was not a part of it...it was. The more important reasons though were to expand what I share beyond my friend group, find more folks doing similar and also interesting things in life, have more engagement with those that I am sharing with, utilize the really awesome technologies that are the backbone of both Steemit and DTube, and ultimately archive my video project on a decentralized platform.

Have I found much of those things? Absolutely.

Has the amount of time and effort I have put in over the past month been worthwhile? That is debatable and ultimately as a new user not really something that I can appropriately gauge because I just have not used the platforms long enough to have the sort of data to compare the time, effort and resources versus the 'return' of my endeavors and alas some of that 'return' can only be quantified as 'enjoyment and fulfillment' and thus wholly subjective.

Considering that I have basically used every drop of electricity that I have generated for an entire month just to upload videos, write articles, make posts, write comments, create snaps, write replies and generally utilize the platforms...I have to say if I was actually paying for said electricity I would probably feel very different at this point about things.

I also went about twenty gigabytes over my cellphone's data plan to accommodate what I have shared so most of what I have done has been with my data throughput throttled at 14.4 Kbps which means everything that I have done has been rather tedious and mind numbingly slow. Considering that even using a cellphone repeater (which uses even more of my limited electricity) I still have intermittent cellular signal which not only adds to the difficulties of doing what I do but also the time it takes to do them.

Something that I noticed that seems profoundly suspect to me is that my first several post had significantly higher earnings than all my posts thereafter. I am a rather suspicious person by nature so this leads me to think that there may perhaps be some automated upvoting to help encourage new users to keep posting but without any empirical evidence to support that notion even I must admit that it is only conjecture.

I quickly learned that if I unfollow users that spam and resteem low grade content that this does not remove them from my feed and thus my feed is clogged with so much junk that I do not even bother looking at it anymore and instead directly load the profile of the people whose posts I want to see one by one. This is extremely annoying especially since my aforementioned bandwidth/connectivity issues and that each time that I do this (if I want to comment or upvote their content) I have to login again and again for each profile that I load.

I tested some of the bots that infinitely spam my wallet with ads for their services and also researched some highly recommended bots and ultimately I think it was just a waste of both Steem and SBD to do so. Yeah the 'coverage' that some bots provide is appealing but ultimately I would have been better off just using the Steem to 'Power Up' and just saved the SBD. One nice thing about the bots spamming my wallet is at least they give me 0.001 Steem each time they do it.

Overall I like the platforms and must say that although there is plenty of room for advancement and fine tuning of the systems being implemented...I came into it understanding that 'beta is as beta does' which means there will be glitches, bugs and dysfunction galore and ultimately I can whine about it or just buckle down and be a part of the growth process but overall it is the actual people that I have interacted with that have kept me wanting to contribute and continue to 'be a part' of that growth.

Sort:  

I don't know how many videos you have in your back catalog or how often you're uploading new videos, but if you only have so many and only upload brand new videos every so often, you might wanna slow down and upload on a regular schedule rather than posting all of them right away in bulk while you're new and don't have a lot of followers yet. That's what I'm doing. I mean, if you have like 100,000 videos already made, then by all means, keep posting them on dtube at the same rate. If you don't have a lot, I'd recommend slowing down. I can't tell you what to do, I can only suggest with your success here in mind.

Yeah I have been considering the same thing actually so thanks for voicing it also. I have somewhere around five hundred more that are already made and I make more each day. I have been trying to get between two and four uploaded each day which basically takes me from early morning to around one in the afternoon to accomplish. A lot of the early days I was making more than one video a day (which is all I do anymore unless something odd occurs) so I have been trying to get a whole 'day' posted each time I start doing uploads. As always thanks for your input. I am definitely leaning towards just posting one or two videos a day but I am also trying to maximize my electrical usage this time of year because I am getting a lot of sun and that is going to change pretty soon.

I agree with @xsrian-cooking on the speed of upload being hard for people to digest. It's a large time investment to watch all of those, and I can't keep up.

I'd say do what you gotta do to get the archived material online so you can slow down and focus on what's happening with you now, which is easier to feel connected to.

Thank you @cahlen I appreciate your advice.

Just watching the videos and writing articles about them each day is difficult for me to digest as well...so I understand the sentiment there. I am definitely torn between following the advice being given to me (to only post a few things a day) and my desire to finish what i think of as an 'archival process'.

I also understand the importance of posting 'current material' and how it is easier to 'connect' to but I also know that without some sort of context (the past) the present won't make a whole lot of sense.

It is kind of weird for me because I have been sharing my videos (and experiences) privately from the beginning amongst a rather large friend base and doing it here is strange because although a few folks on here are actually friends the majority of folks have no real context about me or my life...so there is a bit of a compulsion (on my part) to try to familiarize folks with me and my antics.

For now I am going to slow down on the uploads but unsure about posting current things because honestly the most current stuff is mostly me grinding away writing articles and posting videos. :)

Great post. I have been here a little over 1 year. Mostly just posting my photography and artwork and earned about 3,500 Steem.... that was worth close to $20,000 when Steem hit $8 back in January.... I have invested $0 of fiat money here so just posting photography and other random thoughts can add up .... keep going and you will do well here. Powering up is the way to go.

Thanks! I am rather committed to continuing on here at this point. :)

Me too. Most profitable thing I have tried on the internet since 1996. Better than Youtube, Adsense and anything else.

Agreed! Especially Youtube and Adsense. What a bunch of crap they both are comparatively.

I have never understood how Google makes billions when I get millions of views on my blog and videos and lucky if I earn $1 a day from Adsense. It doesn’t add up.

I have much the same opinion there. I had several things running Adsense and basically only made fifty bucks over a nearly ten year period. I think it is totally suspect how it all 'works'. I had a Youtube channel for gaming but before it was even a year old they changed the rules and unless a contributor has a thousand subscribers they are not even eligible for utilizing Adsense on the platform. I gave up after that. Now I won't even look at a Youtube video unless it is the only way I can learn something that is vital to what I am doing and even then I feel like 'ugh' over doing it.

A great job for your first month put a more effort for you to success buddy 😊 By the way do you already have a byteball my friend?

Hey thanks and thanks again. What is a byteball? [Edit] Nevermind I looked it up. Naw I don't need a byteball.

It can help you my friend by just connecting your steemit acc to steemconnect you will instantly recieve a bonus up to 160$ dependa on your reputation

I don't know. I will do more research and see. Thanks again for the advice.

I can help you what is your facebook acc 😊

I've sent a message request on your messenger and add you on facebook kindly accept me :)

I generally reserve Facebook for my friends that I have met face to face. I will accept you though but don't whine if you wind up on my block list.

I reallly hope that a crypto token will be offering that people who live "off grid" will be able to hook up to "An Internet" and to recieve full speed connections for free!

For the first time in around 9 years im lucky to have a job to afford the internet data I use, mines pay as you go a I have no contracts anywhere in life, and so also like yourself im delegated a very slow internet service, even though im in Norway as a rich country!

I really dont even believe that there are saterlittes relaying my internet signal lol.. It seems like hamster wheels and balls of wool make it work slowly hahahahah

Haha! Yeah a 'crypto cellphone' would be nice. I likewise have no contracts in life. It is a good feeling. The slow internet is just tedious and time consuming but it is better than no internet!

yep :) the cost of the freedom is trading more time , im happy with that price hahahahah :)

Indeed! Time and calories!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65673.10
ETH 2625.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66