Steemit Sucks! Here's how to fix it!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I think steemit sucks. What do you think?
It isn't worth my time to troll through the trash to find the gems.

Steemit is full of bots and spam. I came to steemit hoping it would be like reddit. I hoped it would foster communities naturally and that the financial incentives would only incentivize honestly good content instead of worthless spam.

The honest truth is that steemit rewards are not doled out proportionately to post quality. Instead they are doled out according to how much they attract the interest of others.
In fact, this is why I titled this article "steemit sucks! here's how to fix it!" I chose this title as a way to shock readers of this article. It's shitty, but that's what people here do. They use all-caps and shocking buzz-words to exploit flaws in human psychology to get people to click.

This shit has gone far enough. I believe that steemit truly can become a useful social platform if and only if it finds a way to incentivize high-quality content.

I believe this could happen if and only if steemit uses recent advantages in natural language processing to distinguish between legitimate posts and spammy posts. I believe that there is a large amount of training data on steemit to use to determine this relationship.

Sort:  

I'm new here, and am going to give it some time, for sure. Awakening the planet doesn't happen overnight!

STEEMIT = DARK MIRROR ?
STEEMIT = PONZI SCHEME ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91