Immortalizing my memories with steemit and a blockchain

in #steemit5 years ago

memories.jpg

Immortalizing my memories with steemit & the blockchain
Our memory is quite fickle one may forget what is recent and important however they are a lot of memories of times gone by which may revisit us.

I have fond memories of my childhood which keep coming back to me and help in in keeping my inner child alive.
One of the fondest memories is listening to stories from my mother and grandmother.
In those wonderful days there was no internet and no digital media either.
Yet my grandmother and mother had a bag full of stories.
These were stories told to my grandmother by her grandmother.
My grandmother was a wise lady who was both worldly wise and had a way with children. Her mind was like a big database of information as she seemed to know everything. Her stories were like a heirloom of information and folklore.
The memory of those stories is like a treasure that I cherish and it would very much like to preserve till eternity.

my memory may fail but the stories need to be preserved

I am only human and it is quite likely that at some point I am forget all the stories.
I have considered writing them down in a diary. However in that case they would be confined to me.
Something’s change with time. For instance children no longer get to spend quality time with their grandparents.
Such story sessions are getting quite rare.
If in the future someone were to revive these story sessions between grand parents and their grandchildren then where would these stories come from?
One may argue that there are always options like the Amazon Kindle.

However in my opinion nothing replaces the story told by a grandparent to his or her grandchild.
It is the Great bonding exercise between 2 generations that are years apart.
For me those story sessions were never boring.
I could ask my grandmother repeat a particular story any number of times and every time it was sound fresh.
Small nuances would get added to the story line keeping it fresh and engaging.
Such was the magic of the stories told by my grandmother.

grandmother stories and the steemit opportunity

With steemit I see the opportunity to create a legacy where I can write down some of my own stories as well as those told by my grandmother.
This way these stories would stay alive and accessible for the generations to come.
So basically I would like to record folktales and stories of times gone by onto the steemit platform and by virtue of it being tied to an underlying blockchain it would preserve the content till eternity.

With this intent I had started writing down my stories.
I have published a couple of them on this blog of mine and here are the are links.

story 2.jpg

The Wooden Horse Part 2

The Wooden Horse Part 1

Do let me know what you think of this project of mine.
Your words and suggestions would be of great encouragement
Do share the story that a post so that they may reach far and wide.

Sort:  

Nice though and initiative

Posted using Partiko Android

This sounds like a very interesting project. I think it is great that you want to preserve your family's stories and look forward to reading your future posts in this series. :)

thanks for the encouragement appreciate it :)

nice idea, but if you truly want this to be a time-capsule I don't know if i would trust Steemit to always be around... I certainly hope so!

yes you have a very valid point so I can hope I can find something with a greater degree of longevity :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57972.96
ETH 2357.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36