[Advice] If you don't like the content of a Steemit user, MUTE them! Don't flag them!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

The mute button is amazing! It erases every post and comment on your account from that muted user. If you disagree with a fellow Steemian and do not want to see their content (ever) because it offends you, click the mute button and every last trace of them will be gone from your account. Every post and every comment will be instantly eliminated from your feed. It will be as if that person does not exist on steemit (within your account).

Do not flag a post unless it's something absolutely evil. And make sure it's really evil and not just something you don't like. Flagging (downvoting) is like vandalism in some ways. You are reducing the value of something simply because you do not like it, when it may have value to other people. You would not want someone else flagging you because they have a different opinion or don't like something you said. Flagging rarely does anyone good, it just starts wars between users.

There is a time for flagging, but be extremely hesitant to click that flag icon. If you are offended that someone is receiving upvotes on a post about something you do not like, mute the user who posts the offensive content and Steem on. @ironshield

Sort:  

When I was writing this post, I was thinking about @lasseehlers who is being downvoted for saying the earth is flat. My advice: if you think that #flatearth is stupid, that's fine. Go ahead and mute every flatearther on steemit. But don't go on a downvoting crusade. That's just wrong. @ironshield

Agreed.. although if their content is always offensive maybe a flag is in order.. I wouldn't know though.. cuz they are muted :)

That's the best part. ZAP! GONE! @ironshield

@ironshield
Great content!
Thanks for sharing!

I used the flag button on my second day on steemit. I along with a bunch of other people got accused of being in a voting ring for upvoting a post by @mericanhomestead.

Yeah, my name was on the voting ring accusation page. The only downvote I've ever given (so far) was a really nasty comment on one of my posts, had nothing to do with my post or with me. Evil was what was posted and I downvoted the comment. @ironshield

I've seen an awful lot of people say "Flag" is actually identical to a simple downvote on other platforms and not to be reserved just for plagiarism, illegal content, and the like. I have a feeling there's maybe a difference of opinion based on how long people have been using Steemit. Or maybe it is a reflection of what content people are seeing.

I do understand the "anti-echo chamber" rationale behind not downvoting, and how it can so easily be abused to censor content that doesn't necessarily warranty censorship.

Personally I'd be more than happy to occupy a sub-steemit where the majority of people who think flat-earthers are either delusional, dumb as a (flat) rock, or just PITA contrarians who get pleasure from posting nonsense they don't even believe in for the sole purpose of tormenting rational thinkers who are suckered into trying to talk them out of their deranged web of inconsistencies and alternative facts.

In the absence of that ability I'll have to make do with not-feeding the trolls for they are legion and breed like Gremlins after midnight...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61766.31
ETH 2428.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64