Steemit shouldn't have google search as the sites search engine

in #steemit6 years ago

Now I am grateful for what the founders of steemit are doing and I love this site.
But I really i am wondering how on Earth the Google search engine on steemit was a actual option.
When we are using social media alternates it should have its own search engine. Google needs to be used minimally. I find it very weird that a site that was supposed to be anti google censorship uses the google search engine.
A steemit search engine needs to happen like 6 months ago

Again I am not ripping on the steemit founders. They are a gift from the heavens probably, and they are very anti censorship. I would like to congratulate them on what they have done

Sort:  

Presumably the reason to use Google search is because of the following reasons:

A) Google does the heavy lifting of indexing and presenting the site in a searchable format.

B) Google offers the greatest flexibility when it comes to search types and queries.

C) It's free

D) Implementing a powerful search solution on Steemit which is a blockchain based platform, might technically be difficult and hard to scale.

I guess the duckduckgo search engine could be used, if we want google to dissapear we should have our websites prepared for it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58607.22
ETH 2616.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43