Created a steemit photo sharing site - Hosting photos solved!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hello steemit writers and fans, this is my first post! So I took the plunge and decide to start writing articles about tech, the net, online research and fun ways to find great information online. Steemit looks amazing I love using markdown, I think its super clean and easy to use. I have a blog on a site that uses Ghost another popular markdown-only blogging platform. 

Anyways, I jump on here and think wait a second, I want to share a photo, it's not uploaded anywhere, and I am just to lazy to ftp an image up to one of my sites every time. I thought about using 

Then the light bulb went on and I realized why don't I BUILD a site so I can just hang all my photos on for steemit posts.

Anyways, I put the breaks on the steemit posting and have been working on a site for the past 5 hours that I think will work. It evolved from a site that I can hang all my photos to why not let anyone to upload and share their photos while I am at it. I enjoy internet design and puzzles to make the millions of bytes connect.

Overall I got the domain and built the site and put it online today Nov 13 2017.

I hope you will try it out, you don't have to login or create any accounts. This is how simple it is, literally 2 steps:

Go to freephotoupload.com



1. Drag the photo or photos you wish to upload or click on Start Uploading



2. Click on embed code and then choose what type of code you want. 

Options for your uploaded photo are: the full version URL, medium version URL, and the best of all the markdown code is ready to go just click copy when you hover your mouse over the link.


The three photos you see on this post are live on the site, and its working beautifully I am pretty excited and proud of myself if I may say so.

Bonus feature!


If you upload multiple photos at once, I set the max to 5 at a time, you can copy the markdown code for all three images with just one click, how epic is that! 


Anyways another cool project that I am happy with. Please try it out and let me know if it works for you, and if you were able to upload multiple photos.

Stats -  Updated on 13 Nov 17

  • I have the limit set for 20mb maximum. If you have photos that are larger that are not uploading please comment and I will work on the php settings to raise the bar.
  • For the hosting and web nerds like myself the site is hosted on a small web server in the USA, with an SSD drive and 1GBPS connection with plenty of room to grow.
  • You can create an account and upload photos so you can control them, or just upload them publicly.
  • As of 13 Nov there are 7 photos hosted for a total of 30.1 mb with 1 user.

Gratitude

  • Thanks for all the people who support this project. Looking forward to being a part of the community here. 

- Internet Guru

Sort:  

Looking forward to any feedback or questions on the photo upload site. Thanks :-)

Thanks for doing this. I clicked on the link. It isn't coming up in my browser.
any suggestions?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64278.56
ETH 3504.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54