You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Account Verification - Verifying Third Party Social Network Accounts and Websites

in #steemit8 years ago

I came across this post late. But wouldn't this pave the way for trolls, doxxers, taxation, stalkers, or other awful people, to harass steemit users?

Quite often, people pay attention to the "Good" in things, without spending enough time to consider how they can be abused.

I'm someone who might have only a "1" beside my verification. As long as someone legitimate vouches for me, that should be enough.

I don't think spreading your online life in the form of a list is the way to go.

Instead, having respected people in the community be able to verify or vouch for you is quite enough.

I don't have a twitter, nor a facebook. If I did, I surely wouldn't tie those to my account here.

You have the right idea, just the wrong execution. I see @ned has made your method now as official Github Issue #355

Please take my comments into consideration and look at it from outside the box on possible abuse cases.

It might do more harm than good in many situations.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59060.44
ETH 2608.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43