You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Copy, Paste, STEEMIT! Making Money Off Of Other People’s Content?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Original content is important to steem. This is how Google will index us. If we just duplicate the web, Google will start filtering out steem results, which means we slowly die.

These greedy buggers who keep copying pieces of the internet and reposting it to earn a few cents, are doing it at the expense of hurting steem in the short term.

We, as a community, should be flagging these posts (downvote) in the top right corner. If they are clearly junk copy/paste content, they should not be rewarded for it.

Steem is still so new. I understand greed comes first, and intelligent decisions come second.

Over time, you will see that intelligent decisions come first, and greed, well, will still be there. People will learn how quality unique content actually makes them a lot more money than cut/paste posts.

Do the math: You can make 50,000 posts on steem it by cutting pasting for 1 cent, to earn $500

Or you can make 1 single post, with your brain, and writing something unique and interesting that gets popular, and still earn that $500

These other people would rather spam the steem network with junk, than use their brain. What can we really say about that?

Sort:  

Punishing users for sharing behavior that is normal on every other network will not work or make this place popular. Downvoting for SEO reasons is a bad strategy. Normal reddit and facebook users won't understand it.

If you want to go on a crusade, post what you explained here in their posts comments.

I don't want to go on a "crusade", and when I do downvote, I post a comment as to why I have done that, I will say things like "article appears to be stolen from http://xyz/0/sfs/xyx.html

Sometimes the author will say "so, whats wrong with stealing content?" ...and I will explain. Look at my replies.. I'm constantly commenting. I'm doing it again, right now. :)

The crusade comment was directed more at the abuse brigade police force that is forming.

That's the way to do it. Inform instead of attack. It will only take a few comments like yours to get people to add commentary.

I think that would be the best way, post a commentary (doesn't have to be long) about the link itself and the individuals personal thoughts of the article.

I'm kinda in the same place I won't down vote copy paste content but I also won't up vote it, which kinda sucks when it's a decent article. So if someone merely linked it with their own little write up, that I would up vote for. If it was A) a good find and B) a tiny bit of effort was put into the commentary and it doesn't look like a 2 year old wrote it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58067.54
ETH 2469.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40