STEEMY WHALE - A Flappy Bird-clone I Made.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Sorry for not posting in a while. I've been busy.

If you don't want to read how I got to make it and just want to play the game, you can skip to the bottom and click on the link.

For as long as I can remember, games have been a part of my life. Even now whenever I feel bored, I open up Google and type Good RPG games to play. It has become a reflex at this point considering how many times I have searched the exact phrase on the internet. Playing games have inspired me in many different ways. One day, this thought popped in my head. How cool would it be if I developed my own game? This idea might popped into the mind of every person who has ever played video games. It would be cool, indeed. But would it be easy?

No.

A simple Google search gave me the answer. I wasn't and am still not well-versed in coding and scripting. I have a very little and vague idea of how that works. In addition to the coding process, there was the creation of assets, sounds and story writing. Now keep in mind, none of this easy.

Coding was a nightmare for me personally. No matter how many tutorials I watched online, I never figured out what to write so that X would do Y. Creating sound effects seemed easy at first, that was until I actually downloaded the software and tried to do it.

Designing and creating assets was what I interested in and it seemed easy. I sketched out what I wanted to draw first on paper. Then decided to photoshop it. Needless to say, it went horribly and I am a bad painter. I eventually settled on pixel art because it not only has a significant charm to it but it is often easy to create. So I made some sprites in it.

At some point along the way, I gave up. It was too hard for me and I knew that it wasn't for me. I scrapped the project and threw it in the trash can.

Once again.

This past week, I had this sudden urge to try again, you could say that there was something that produced a limitless amount of motivation for me to try again. I knew that I had aimed too high during my last attempt, and decided to tone it down a bit. I needed something easy to make. A lack of creativity led me to decide to clone an already existing video game. I chose Flappy Bird for that. And for the theme of the game, I chose Steemit.

I picked Gamemaker and got to work. I spent a lot of time making the sprites and even more getting everything right. I admit it wasn't easy. I had to scrap code along the way. You'd even find remnants of the scrapped code if I uploaded the game-maker project file here.

Even though it's not very polished or professional looking, I poured a lot of hours into it. It's not the next greatest game of all time and frankly I didn't ever want my first game to be that. I wanted to start small and I did. I know that it isn't much to look at, it lacks special effects, sound effects. The game and it's code is riddled with flaws. It could have better sprites and assets. I feel great about it as it is the first video game I made. Once you've created something, you realize how great the feeling of accomplishment feels. It will always have a special place in my heart that is for certain. It is the first game I ever made, and hopefully it won't be the last.


You can download the game on itch.io.

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed it.

Sort:  

Looks cool is there anyway you can have it hosted/playable online? I would strongly advise anyone not to download a .exe from an untrusted source.

I really don't know how to do that. I can provide virustotal screens or something like that. Maybe even the game maker project if anyone wants that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62593.28
ETH 3105.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86