Life within an Artists Colony (like Steemit)

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I haven’t done much art shopping since I lived in Bali almost 20 years ago. But then I haven’t lived within a culture of artistry since either.

I’ve lived in some great places, like NYC, Maui, San Francisco, etc. But this is a culture where creating art (whether with a brush and paint or with the land itself) is considered a normal part of life in general, not just something you’re doing. There is more an assumption that someone is relating to life as an artist than there is that they are not, since most are, whether they would label it that way or not.

In the Pic

This is a picture of a desk. Now somewhere else this might look decidedly more rectangular, with a sold color of wood. But here an artist has made the desk and decided to use pieces of bamboo and coconut shell to create a beautiful, textured surface.

I’m still deciding if I’m actually going to buy it, since beautiful or not, I like my desks to have drawers. But I know someone will.

You see the other special thing about this place is that there is also an actively buying public supporting these artists. Painters can afford to spend their lives perfecting the craft of their painting, because they have public support by way of art buyers.

Et Tu, Steemit?

(Actually, the connotation of the allusion there is way off, but anyway....)

If you think about it, isn’t that exactly what we’re trying to create here on Steemit?

I mean, we don’t get paid by buyers, but we do get paid by upvotes from patron readers with SP.

And we hope to get to a point where we can be fully supported by our writing here. We hope to find this is a place where we can spend our days advancing our craft and growing our audience as we do.

To Invest Oneself in the Platform or Not

@tarazkp posted earlier about those who regularly powerup because they are invested in the future of the platform and those who don’t powerup, and I commented how it was such an easy decision for me.

Offline in Taos culture and online in Steemit culture, I’m looking for the same thing: a place where I get to express myself as the artist sculpting a life that is art, and finds those eager to experience and appreciate that. Perhaps even someone supported by the practice of her art.

If you’re like most people, you aren’t experiencing that off Steemit anymore than I was just a couple weeks ago, which makes this even more of a uniquely valueable experience for you.

This is a great place to be, and we are lucky to have found each other here. I may not generally come right out and say it, but I want you to know that I appreciate you. I appreciate your writing, your reading and your very presence. Thank you for being a part of my Steemit community.

We are doing something important in the world here. Carry on.

D0F90D8E-075C-402D-B365-0EAA5AD5D668.jpeg

Sort:  

I like the analogy. I've never lived in an art focused community like the one you mentioned, but it is nice to know that they exist where artist can make a living off their passion.

I've only been active on steemit for a month, but I can definitely say I am appreciative of your presence. I always enjoy reading your thought provoking post and I look forward to reading many more in the future. Thanks for making me feel welcome!

Much I could say here; I will try to keep it from turning into a dissertation...

Growing up in Denmark, art has a different "value" than here in the US. Thinking about your table, we have a word "brugskunst" (literally means something like "art that you use") which is a natural and inherent part of the culture. It is a natural extension of the culture (much like in Japan) that functional things should also be beautiful to behold.

Now, I happen to be a writer, an artist (in a manner of speaking), I live in what is seen as "an arts community" (Think "Taos in the Northwest"), AND my wife and I have a small independent art gallery. The main difference is that we have mostly people who ideologically support art, more than financially support it. As such, we have hundreds of artists, but most of the commercially successful ones sell their art primarily in other states.

I bring it up because in some way, it's an analogy that translates a little, as well. A lot of people here don't support their community, as much as they support themselves. And (as Taraz also alluded to) some are supporters "in name only."

So I think it falls to us — those who want to find long term community and place to contribute for years — to find our "niche communities" that represent what we want this place to be, and to become!

Thanks for a thoughtful post!

Yes, in many places people love the idea of themselves as doing something cool like supporting the arts, and they can talk a good game, but show me the investment.

And similarly here. But here those with little actual money to invest can still support the community by creating and curating good content. The more tightly we connect with each other as a real community the more we even further strengthen this.

Thanks for stopping by and helping me find you.

I sincerely thank you for your time here on Steemit cause I truly enjoy your posts. I am trying to get some of my friends from Facebook come here because of their posts there that they are doing for free. I will make sure they find your page as a way to be on this platform.

So true. People are trained to give away their knowledge and creativity to enrich someone else. We have to educate people to know they have other options and how to succeed with them.

Beautiful desk, table or whatever one may wish to use it for... I love this sort of artistic craftsmanship. You said,

...get to express myself as the artist sculpting a life that is art, and finds those eager to experience and appreciate that.

I just ran across this artwork on Minds and loved it:

1.jpg
source: Beardedone2017

Hi,

I appreciate that you appreciate me in this Steemit community.

Steemit give me hope for the future when I feel I will be rewarded in a big way for all my effort in here.

great analogies. where art is supportive, humans thrive!! steemit has been radical so far for us to find a -HOME- for our creations on the interwebs.

well at least Steemit motivates us to develop our creative writing skills I think

Definitely does for me.

and it helps me to learn new stuff, because when I write something in my blog, I have to spend some time to study my material in more details before I will write and post new blog

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by IndigoOcean from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 24.91% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64871.83
ETH 2536.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67