Is mimicking @Wang upvotes a Good strategy for Curation rewards?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

If you aren't aware or need a reminder, @wang became a whale in steemit with a comment bot that he built a bot to auto comment a standardized comment to posts, and it turned off a number of people thinking it was an unfair advantage. But there wasn't any rules against it at the time, and the benefit of doing it was killed with steemit updates like adding the user reputation.

But after the Steemit updates, @wang made his one blog post stating his disappointment, but he didn't just pack up his toys and go home. Why would he really!? - He has a lot of steemit dollars & steem power!

He's a whale with a lot of weight and it pays to upvote. So now if you follow his activities on Steemd (https://steemd.com/@wang), you can see he's actively upvoting daily and spreading the wealth to content creators. But also making a good earning from doing it.

I'm not sure if he's setup a bot to do it, but it really seems like he's picking out decent posts if you go through them. And you'll see he's doing weighted upvotes. But if I had that type of account, I'd be doing the same thing, and irregardless if you like or don't like how @wang was born.

I think the evolution where @wang is today is pretty cool since he's reward himself and others at the same time. And the biggest thing is - He's a Very Active Whale... which has been a big complaint among those wanting their posts upvoted by whales.

So my question to the Steemians is do you think it's a good strategy to follow his upvotes to try to get on the curation rewards bandwagon?

Or are the chances not that much different then just doing upvotes to authors you like to follow.

I've normally just stuck with my fellow minnows to try to build up each other over time with #minnowsunite


But I keep going back to this in my head as I watch he's activities in amazement, so I'm really curious what others think on if a active whale voting mimic strategy is a good one or not?

Sort:  

Really interesting didn't know thats how he got there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62924.41
ETH 2436.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52