You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit for Boomers: Why So Many Steemit Passwords???

in #steemit6 years ago

I dont't understand this. If Steemit is on blockchain that means when something is in a block, approved, how come you can edit your post titles? and content? or is this 7 day period just that? for something to be approved

Sort:  

Nope, what you see in steemit is being "filtered" through a User Interface (called "condenser", for obscure reasons). On the blockchain you have EVERYTHING. You have your original post and then you have a subsequent "transaction" with the modifications you've done. When the "condenser" prepares the web page to display it to you, it combines all the transactions that refer to a post and "merges" them to show you the latest version of a post.

So what you see in a web page is a merged version of the original post and all the subsequent modifications. Blockchain is not changed, it's "appended to"

Here is a picture of a comment I've written several minutes ago:
comment.JPG

And then I did some stuff and came back and EDITED that same comment. This edit is another transaction on the blockchain which looks like this:

edit.JPG

But when you read the comment on Steemit you only see the MERGED version from the two transactions, which corresponds to the FINAL version.

The rule of 7 days is probably to protect the blockchain from too many "edit" operations maybe (in relationship with old content) ? And to keep coherent with the rewards cycle of 7 days ? Just speculating here, I'm not sure

This was fabulous. Thanks! I wondered about that too. And the 7 day cycle I'm sure has to do with both things. The payout and the reduction of changes. But I guess it's interesting to know that all of the original comments and posts I make are floating around on the blockchain too......insert twighlight zone theme here.

I know, I actually have the same question. I don't know how it works. Probably there is some time travel-alternate universe loop involved. :0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57296.76
ETH 3055.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32