Spamming comments on steemit - seems like spamming machine reached a new level, grew itself a tiny brain and attacked again

in #steemit7 years ago

Earlier I already wrote an angry post about "Upvote and follow" comments. Seems like now this wave goes lower, but instead of it we have new one rising. 

Everyone experiences it differently, I know only how I experience it on the example of my art blog. Yesterday I already seen a post like this, but want to make my own, with may be some specific explanations.

 First of all - I always, and I mean ALWAYS check out blogs of these steemians who left me a comment. I check out, find the post I like, upvote it, and say something in the comments IF I HAVE WHAT TO SAY. But never, and I mean NEVER "Upvoted you, and followed, now you do the same" will make me to do the same. 

But to go wider - such comments is not the only way to spam other blogs. Have a few examples today.

I posted a drawing. Well, my blog is about art, and in 99% cases it's my art - so that's what I do, I post drawings and paintings, with process or without it, stories about artists, reviews of artbooks art art supplies - all the art related stuff. And my dog, cause she's too cute and I can't help posting her. But in general - drawings. It's my life, my work and my hobby, everything in one word.

 What do you think my reaction is when under the drawing, especially digital I see a comment like:

"Nice photo! You must be professional in photography!"  

Oh hell... Let me tell you the secret. I have no idea how to hold a camera, and where to press. To make a good photo. I take all photos of my pics with my cell phone. And I'm NOT a photographer. Yes, I admire people who can make good and creative shots. But I'm not one of them!

Another secret is - it can take hours to make a good drawing. Even days. So even if the post includes only a drawing+few words of description - it took a lot of time and effort. And only a second to take a photo of it. And even after this - nice photo? Oh, hell...

"Good post"

Also feels like spam. Really? What should I answer to this? Thank you? That's what I do.

And feel after it like a "Thank you" spammer...

The new feature I saw just today in the morning - "Welcome to steemit" comment. From a newbie. Yes. Not under the intro post. I even can't say anything about it.

And my favorite one,star of the collection, the phrase that annoys most:

"Keep up the good work!"

REALLY??? Thank you so much for giving me this tip! What would I do without you? Perhaps I would just throw all my art supplies out of the window, dance on my laptop until it turns to a pile of garbage, then leave my house for the forest, and would wander there until I'd break both legs falling to a ravine where later bears would eat my dead body! But you saved me, you said that I must keep up the good work! Oh, NOW I'll keep it!

OK, sorry for the angry post. But dear newbies, do you even think what you're writing? Or you're just live versions of spam bots?

Love, Inber

Image credit

Sort:  

It is no use looking to some outside authority to deal with the issue. We are the stakeholders. The degree to which we are invested in the steem blockchain determines our level of control. Protect your investment and control the behavior of other participants in accordance with your vision for your platform.

Flag them down to zero reputation and take all their earnings away. Then the incentive to spam is gone.

If you flag the ones in your posts, and others flag the ones in their posts, then we are all doing our bit to clean the platform up.

This is the new paradigm of the Steem blockchain. The stakeholders are in control.

I find it really hard to flag people but I think you are right.

I hope it'll really happen like this, I just have not so much steem power to flag down that much.

I had someone that plagiarized a spam comment from another spammer and was using it as their own. I noticed this because they forgot to replace the original spammers name with their own at the end. It brought spamming to a new level.

Oh WOW! That's really a new level... Plagiarizing spam comments sounds like stealing someone's wastes of life...

That made me laugh in a "the other option is cryng" kinda way XD

I know what you mean. I get excited if I see anyone has responded to my blog posts at all because I'm so new here and don't have much of a following. When I go and look and it's just "great post, followed, follow me back!" it doesn't feel like we made a real connection.

I like your portraits and the friendly whales picture. It would be interesting if you did portraits of a selection of the better know Steemians. You could have a Famous Steemian portrait gallery.

People feel lost if they wont receive any comments or upvotes. And if they receive lot of comments and upvotes they get offend why?

They don't get offended on comments. But it's really easy to understand if someone read your post or just wrote a comment to get attention, that's all.

Yeah you are right. Lol. Just looked around :-)

This was hilarious @inber.... and I totally agree!!! At one of my bf's @creutzy pic wrote 'your painting is amazing'..... spam like that so not surprising in here anymore....!!!

Like the artist doesn't know himself;)

no no, I wrote it wrong, it was a picture taken with a camera and the girl wrote your painting muahaha even worse you see??? :D

Oh my... But she could suggest that you're a hyper-realist:)

Stay artsy! I've started to mute some people....spam sucks

I tried to avoid it as long as I could - but seems like no chance.

Also, I for one am glad for the fact that you will not get eaten by bears!

I hope so:) Without spammers it really could happen, ha-ha:)

Spammers: Your best defence against bears

Ha-ha, turns out right:)

well lately i am trying to force them to talk. but nada.

its a hybrid people, half human, half bots. they dont have any wires through their flesh, but they type short meaningless comments very fast at every new post. i have checked ‚‚replies" section of one of them. it goes like 1 min ago, 2 min ago, 2 min ago, 3 min ago, 4 min ago, 6. min ago, 6 min ago... and they have over 2k coments in few days i guess. im still waiting to single out one of them and make him talk.

They never response. Really - never. And once or twice I did the same - checked out their "replies". Damn, that's a lot of useless effort! I think they just have no idea that anyone can check their responses

i thought about flagging them, but i doubt they would understand why. im just reading a post from guy who thinks cheetah is user who targets him without reason.

I met A LOT of such guys, complaining all the time, on cheetah and steemcleaners.
I flagged a few, then stoped. It's like fighting brunches instead of the roots

i will use auto response

Its great picture. please follow me $0.00Reply · [-]interceptor 48 · 16 minutes ago only if you are true leader of people who posts great pictures

I really like this recipe. I shared it with my family. Keep up the good work!

O_O What damn recipe do you see here?!?! How you managed to spam a post about spamming where author says that she HATES that damn phrase "Keep up the good work"????

Based on the context of someone commenting on the wrong art form I thought it would be humorous to leave a comment even farther removed from the original content so I said "Recipes". Then I repeated the offensive phrase "keep up the good work" to complete the joke. The intent was to be absurd and hopefully make you chuckle.

He-he, who works with children doesn't chuckle in circus:)
I already am so spammed with such comments that can no longer see if it's a joke or not. Sorry for overreacting:)

If it's any consolation, I wasn't sure if you were mad or playing along. Cheers.

I'm mad:) But love black humor:)

Haters will hate

You about me?:) I don't hate, I just don't understand the point of spamming

There's just a lot going on with Steemit that I Fail to understand these days . But oh well I guess we just have to be careful . You're too nice to hate :D

Steemit was different in the beginning, before general access was opened. We had not a single "Upvooooote me!!!" comment in that times

Or follow me and I follow you . I guess things change

Like if their follow is a blessing for me, really:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63208.95
ETH 3084.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82