You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing The Baja California School of Sonography (BCSS) at Imaxess

in #steemit8 years ago

You aren't getting old. Sierra is involved in a program we run with high schools to bring exceptional young minds into the medical field to give them practical, hands on experience. She takes the same courses we give to our college students, but she also has to keep up her grades at her regular school. When she is done, she will have an Associates Degree, but she will have that the same day she finishes high school.

Education in Mexico is different than in the USA though. At a certain age our school students start looking into career options and it's not at all uncommon for them to receive vocational training in various fields under the tutelage of someone with experience. The extent that this happens varies a lot from school to school.

This young lady is going to do great things.

Sort:  

Thanks for clearing that up. I thought I had reached that stage where everyone looks too young to be doing their job! Very cool. I remember I went on work experience when I was 14 although it was in a much more boring office position - all I did was make coffee for everyone. I still don't know what the hell they actually did there. I never really understood the purpose at the time because it had nothing to do with the kind of jobs I was interested in and I found it really boring. This sounds much more interesting and useful so well done in enthusing young people about such useful work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44