Will My 13 Year Old Cousin Embrace My Steemit Dream for Him? I'm Getting Him Ready to Join Steemit!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

The only reason I was unable to post anything for more than 30 hours now is that I was busy teaching my 13 year old cousin how to blog. He lives more than 200 kilometer away from my place. I went to meet the family and, basically, help my cousin learn how to blog.

textgram_1513540630.png
The boy with spectacles is eldest among the siblings.

He's not only a cousin to me. He sees me as a teacher too because I love teaching (you may guessed from the dozens of guides I posted on Steemit) and he seems to love studying from me. However, the teaching role is not just academically motivated. I try to work with him on mini projects to instill the firm belief in him that he is capable and can learn and do anything.

My constant effort is to liberate him from the limited mindset that school installs and bring out his creativity and passion. He has a brilliant mind and is a quick learner. His creative abilities are also raring to be utilized.

I have a dream for him. A dream that I wish him to embrace as his own. A Steemit dream!

20 Hour Rule

Why I'm referring it will be clear after this paragraph. But the 20 Hour Rule by Josh Kaufman is a hypothesis to counter the scariness of the popular 10,000 Hours Rule mentioned in the famous book of Malcolm Gladwell called Outliers : The Story of Success. Summary is; Gladwell says you need 10,000 hours to master anything while Kaufman reminds that 20 hours are enough to become good enough at anything.

I opened YouTube and started searching for a video that I could show to my cousin. This TED Talk by Josh Kaufman came up.

When we finished watching this video, I suggested that both of us should test the authenticity of this 20 hour thing by doing experiments with it. He agreed. I suggested I learn Spanish and he learns blogging and see what we accomplish in 20 hours. He agreed again.

So I asked him to take help of Mr Google to make an email address for himself and then again to make a WordPress blog. It was two weeks ago, when I had stayed at his family's for a day and night. I came back and the next week he had made his blog. I was so happy and proud of him!

IMG_20171218_012605.jpg
Why won't I be proud!

I met him yesterday and we had quite a lot to do. I gave him a detailed overview on how WordPress blog worked and how to customize it. I also helped write better organized and formatted content by explaining the editor items for him.

IMG_20171218_014355.jpg

Other than blogging, I also installed typing master in the notebook that he gets to use so that he can improve his typing speed and take less time to write a blog.

Why WordPress? Why Not Steemit?

Because I do not want him to make rookie mistakes when he joins Steemit. Also, by posting thrice or more per week and getting zero rewards for months, he will develop an attitude to work without rewards and purely from skill development point of view. Having earned nothing from his all previous blogging efforts, he will be thank for each 0.001 Steem or SBD that he is going to get on Steemit. That is very important.

By learning how to create blog posts on a free WordPress blog, he will be able to create great content when he finally joins Steemit.

The Steemit Dream

My dream, that I want him to make his own by his own choice, is simple. He is in grade six and has a lot of raw brain power.

In a year, I wish to see him pay his school bills by himself through Steemit blogging. In two years, I wish to see him teach every other kid in the family how to blog and then bring them to Steemit. In four years, I wish to see him become one of the significant contributors to the economy of home. When he's 18 years old, I wish to see him totally self sufficient and independent of financial worries.

All this will be powered by Steemit. He will always have me by his side, ready to help. But he will have to put in work to achieve any of these dreams. I gave him hints but haven't told him in detail about my dream.

Will he embrace this dream when I explain it to him?

Sort:  

Awesome that you help your cousin learning how to blog.
And with you, he definitely has a teacher who know what he does!

You have a great vision, keep on holding on it :)

Thank you so much for your kind words, Jason. My best hope is to develop winning mindset and solid habits in him so that he utilises his talents to their best.

You will do it! :)

Thank you for the motivation :)

You are absolutely a hero here.

Tell your cousin I'm working on building a children appropriate platform and soon he will be able to post on their safely. Young men like him can be role models for the kids I'm trying to bring on too.

But seriously you are the man for being there for him and supporting him like you are .

Thank you very much for your appreciation. I am sure he will be a great influence for the little sisters as well as his younger cousins.

Wonderful idea and I hope for the best results. I am also working on it but in different perspective. I am inviting my friends which are enthusiastic for blogging. Recently I have planted a new 🌲 on steemit from Bangladesh @manzurul!
He is very good photographer and Loves photography.
When I had seen his beautiful Photography and passion. I have decided to invite him for Steemit because steemit.com appreciate quality contents.
Let's hope for the best results. Thanks for your quality work @ilyastarar.

Thank you so much for your wishes. I really appreciate your work to promote Steemit and bring new people here. As this community grows, so will our societies. Because candles can light up other candles. You are a great torch bearer!

Thanks brother.

This is an incredible thing you are doing! I love to see how much support you are giving him and tools that will be invaluable!

I'm teaching my daughters how to use steemit so that they can earn a little extra on their arts and their talents that they've never be able to make money at before and they love it.

Good luck to you and your cousin. You have a FANTASTIC idea and plan.

Wow! A big high five!

You're amazing! Your daughters are lucky to have you and I am sure they will never stop thanking you in the long term.

Thanks for coming here and leaving a wonderful comment.

You're welcome. I love supporting other writers here and I especially loved reading your post about doing something for someone else! Whenever he does get a steemit account, be sure to post the link. Heck, if you want someone to comment/support on wordpress, I'd be happy to! I've had many blogs over the years and I know how encouraging comments can be!

He'll be ready for Steemit soon and I will get him to know his first big supporter even before he joined. Thanks for being awesome!

I think that is really nice that you two are trying out that "20 hour rule" together. It sounds like you're trying very hard to be a positive influence in his life. Listen to what he wants, support him, and good things will happen.

I'm trying to be a guide that I didn't have when of his age. My focus is on developing his curiosity in the power of his mind and ability. If he develops a hardworking attitude and a learning habit, he will be far more effective and independent in life.

He is lucky to have a good teacher like you...
I am sure he will surpass your expectations. ..
Best wishes
@xabi

Thank you so much. Thanks to him for giving me a chance to have a positive influence.

Wow you are really doing a great job. Commitment, dedication, hardwork are keys to fulfill dreams so you are doing all these with this tiny child Sibghatullah Warraich as you are saying that he is quick learner so he is going to embrace this dream very soon.
Best wishes for him and for you as well @ilyastarar

Thank you so much for your comment. You have highlighted great traits indeed. I hope for the best for him.

@ilyastarar Hi Bro I agree with you bro that good for kids to learn others things at this age rather than just going to school do the same thing that we did and yup great line teach them to earn and then pay bill and other expense by them self keep it up bro :)

Thank you so much for another wonderful comment. I do hope that my efforts drive him towards online productivity and learning.

i think this post(video) helped me more than your cousin :) .. best of luck

I am glad to read that. Pleasure is all mine. :)

absolutely brother

Yea im sure he gonna love it here

I bet. Thank you for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60231.85
ETH 3263.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43