If Steemit Can be Defined in One Word, It Would be GENEROSITY!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

If I can define Steemit it in one word, it would be generosity. The whole concept and community of Steemit is generous and it's the reason why user stats are skyrocketing.


Let's talk about generosity

Q: Where does the generosity come from? 

A: It comes straight from the heart

Q: Why does it come out? 

A: Because it exists and can't stay hidden forever.

Steemit is Based on Generosity

As @stellabelle explained in her post, we need to understand that Steemit is a gift economy, not a commodity economy .Gift economy is generous!

Let me share an instance here from my first day here on Steemit. A user @darthnava needed some help and shared his medical issue with the community. Let's see what happened.

The community resteemed and upvoted generously to help reward from his post reach $17,000+ in rewards. Not only this, and more significantly, @papa-peppar and @benjojo sent a combined donation of 1500 Steems to his wallet.

There were hundreds more who donated Steems to him. Steem was valued well over $2 at that time. You can get aan idea how much those thousands of Steem donated to the person in need meant to him.

The Unlimited Cycle of Generosity

These donations led Steemit community to appreciate the kind acts and as a consequence, posts from @papa-pepper are now seeing spike in rewards. 

Additionally, and I think it is more valuable of the outcomes, he is now seen as a community leader and respected by everyone.

To inspire you to become more generous, here's what @papa-peppar had to share about his life. He wasn't like this all his life. He was pretty darn bad!

This entire story is a massive cycle of generosity that has no end. @darthnava will hopefully be healthy again pretty soon. The love he received from Steemit will only get shared to more people by him.

Generosity Comes Back to You 

That's how organic and contagious generosity is. If you still think being selfish is the way to succeed here on Steemit, think again. 

Let me share a a sweet little example of how my generosity came back to me. I invited, helped and guided @diverse-thinker to join Steemit a few days ago. Today, he taught and helped me how to join @minnowsupport project. If it wasn't for him, the damn thing was too technical and long for me to even think of trying.

Be generous! If you wanna know how it works, watch the video below. It's okay to have a tear or two in the eyes after watching it.

Conclusion

Be generous. It takes nothing. You have to believe in this quotation to be a benevolent part of Steemit community.

The more you give, the more you get.

It's all about being generous on Steemit. Since I'm preaching generosity, let me share my acts of generosity in my first 11 days here.

  • As soon as I realized that Steemit was a massive gift and opportunity, I spread it to thousands of people through my Facebook and blog. Hundreds have joined.
  • I made a Facebook group to teach Steemit to new people. It's a daily activity. The group is 100 members strong in less than a week and all people are new memebers of Steemit.
  • I had 0.003 Steem and someone need 0.002 for something. I sent him that.
  • Gifted my first Steem to one of the people who is here through my invitation.
  • Supported so many minnows by resteeming and upvoting their introduction and other posts. 
  • Replied to each anand every comment on my posts. The numbers are massive because I have received a lot of engagement.

Being generous is a blessing. Be generous. Do not be selfish. Selfishness does not work here. 

You can show your generosity right now by resteeming and upvoting this post.

Sort:  

Excellent dear you are doing different. I think this is the great example and trend setting technique.
Belive me i have join this wonderful universe 3 days back, i am feeling positity and reward system.
Just Amazing !
Upvote.

Thanks a lot Irfan brother for your positivity and energy.

Nice perspective. Steemit is very unique community and not like anything else we've really seen before.

Thanks a lot @choogirl
I'm starting to follow you. Please do support with your upvote and resteem. Thank you, again!

That's what I'm talking about, good post! 🙌🏼🙌🏼😂

I agree! I would say '' One can only make most out of steemit, by being generous''. @papa-pepper is a great example!

Thanks a lot and I have to agree.

@ilyastarar bahi upvoted and resteemed and how can i forget your support for me on this platform and yeah your generous gift today this post deserves to be reteemed and we must support generosity here. i also mentione dyou in a contest to win for creating value here

Thank you very much Shahryar. Keep growing and being generous.

Nice article, made me take a look at myself.

That's a beautiful thing you said; "made me look at myself." Thank you for saying this! I'm glad it touched you. I hope it inspires you more.

Thank u so much for this heart warming article. A lot of prayers for the health of @darthnava from my side. People like u, @papa-peppar and @benjojo are blessing.
By being selfish we cant be successful not only on steemit but also in every aspect of our life.
No doubt generosity is the key to success.
Upvoted n resteemed!
With lots of love! :)

Thank you very much! You are right. Not only steemit but also the whole life needs us to be generous.

You are welcome :))

Brother, I believe Freedom is a good one word description too :)

Freedom is there of course. That's another way to look at steemit. Thanks

As far as upvoting goes, it's kinda hard to show generosity when you only got 11 upvotes per day! Right now, for instance, I used up my quota for the day, so I can't upvote your article!

Hi @alexander.alexis , I posted about the generosity turning into scarcity just yesterday. The Hard Fork 19 has been a bit hard on Steemians. Upvoting is difficult now, especially for those who don't have a slider yet.

So, I totally agree to what you said.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38