You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Minnow Speaks: My Open Letter to the Steemit Community... The good, bad and the ugly.

in #steemit8 years ago

THIS. This is the problem with steemit. I love the platform, but honestly? If this continues it won't last forever. Hell, I don't even think it will survive the next few years. I would like to see a couple of things: A cap on voting rewards if you vote for the same author multiple times, and a balanceing of vote power so that you dont have users who's vote is worth 6000 of another users votes.

It's easy to say that good content is rewarded, but that is simply not the case, content popular with whales is rewarded, quality is irrelevant. I think a lot of oz charts posts could be automated. That is a pretty ridiculous thing to make so much money on when you have people like barry here spending what looks like hours formatting inteligent opinions.... the whole balance is whack. And steem will not survive unless it's overhauled.

Sort:  

As a very new user on Steemit, I don't have a nuanced understanding of the charts, or the whale bickering that everyone is talking about. But from day one it is pretty easy to see that the power distribution in the community is troublesome. I personally have been hesitant to write any in-depth posts (the type of content I prefer), as I find it extremely unlikely that given my minnow status it will even get read. I agree conceptually that the biggest stakeholders should have the biggest sway in how things progress, but once established, it is hard to counterbalance influential individuals. As stated above, the power ratio feels a bit too much like CEO compensation in the US :) There should probably be some sort of cap on vote power ratio?

First of all - welcome to Steemit @hellhen.
Take heart - unless you were a member of Steemit before the BIG JULY '16 payouts, or came in with a huge social media following, everyone worked their way up the ranks - myself included. This is NO pyramid scheme, for if it was, the person who told me about it would always have a rep score and more earnings than me. This is not the case.

Do the 3 Cs
Content creation - Curation - COMMENTS

It took me nearly 5 months of DAILY blogging and interaction with very little support in the beginning. I've earned my stripes and my voting power. I'm a little dolphin working my way toward orca and I will never say I was held back or that this platform is unfair. It is what YOU make of it. Period.

I agree with @merej99, @hellhen. I'm still a minnow, but I don't have the time to blog daily. I have seen some progress, however, and will continue to work and earn my badges, voting power, steem and reputation, one post at at time. And, I'll have fun doing it! Steemit truly IS what YOU make of it.

I am still glad you are around @merej99

My Steemit b-day is coming up on Monday and I have been doing some reflecting my friend.

Thanks for the comments, helping me when I was new and the posts to help me and so many others.

Bro, you've written one blog. You expect to have high reputation from that? Steemit is not going to hand out STEEM on a silver platter. You actually made more than most do on their introduceyourself blog.

No of course not! I absolutely expect it to be difficult to get started and you always have to earn respect. However, as a casual observer for a couple weeks, it seems clear that Steemit is very good at showing and rewarding content created by and for whales that is of dubious quality relative to other posts. What worries me is the acceleration effect of the power distribution (the more power you have, the easier it is to get more). For Steemit to really succeed, it will need to cater to many different groups of users, and as the size of the pie grows, under the current system, the disparity between the top users and the "normal" users will continue to grow as well.

Yep.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

I am still glad you are around man.

My Steemit b-day is coming up on Monday and I have been doing some reflecting my friend.

Thanks for the support here and off here, over the months @fulltimegeek

I keep trying to put out good, engaging, fact filled - and some fun stuff.

Today is no exception and tagged you on Twitter on one of them you might want to read!

The wise people will read your comments and reflect.....and the rest will get offended.

Welcome to Steemit @hellhen -- Steem On.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48