Vlog 55: Why Bots Are Bad and how to fix the problem

in #steemit6 years ago


In this video I discuss ways that upvote bots hurt the value of Steem and some ways to fix this problem. I am no economics expert and my understanding of this subject may be a bit naive, don't take any of this as financial advice.

Right now the valuation of the entire crypto market is based on speculation. Steemit stands out as the platform is creating real value and real content. That said for it to have more than a speculative value will take a great deal of work and will require some changes. I see upvote bots as the number one problem standing in the way of steemit having real world value. Check out this video to understand why and some ways we can work to fix the problem.

thanks everyone!

~Noah


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Never use bot in anywere. I had a ugly experience in something like this on LiteForex while i was using MetaTrade 4 on Android phone. Sadly, i lost my $ 14 bucks in one nigh after using autotrading bot.

Conclusion: Trade bots -and other else related with no human-are useless and makes you lost money instead earning more than you invest in.

for sure allthough this is more about upvote bots than trade bots. Upvote bots can in some situation be profitable but they are bad for the value of steem which hurts everyone using the steemit blockchain

Hi, I'm new to D tube, posted my first video yesterday. It took me a few hours to figure out how to get it up. I still have a lot to learn about how the Steem economy works and your video was very educational and got me thinking and excited to learn more. Thanks.

Welcome aboard! It’s an exciting platform for sure

Well bots are bad and good if used the right way. They are good in helping Newbies promote their posts and some visibilily. And they are bad for upvoting many bad content.
As they became a part of Steemit we have to get everything under control and limit them a bit.

  • So they shouldnt upvote users with bad reputation.
  • Users with High Steem Power should not use bots.
  • All posts upvoted by bots should be in the "Promoted" section.

Regardless of what content they are used on good, bad, newbie, or oldie they still hurt the steem economy. It doesn’t matter how they are used. Now I understand the need to promote posts, but it would be great if there was a way to do this without devaluing steem and this is what I discuss in the video.

Yes I understand what you mean, but it is very difficult now, as everyone is getting benefits from the bots, whether Whales or Minnows.

Sure although only the people paying for the bots are getting the benifits. To me it doesn’t really matter if it’s a whale or a minnow getting the benifits. Regardless the bots are reducing the value of steem which hurts everyone whale or minnow alike... but really is worse for the whales. I’d love to see a bot that voided 75 percent of the steem the recieved as payment for their vote. It would allow the bot to still be profitable for the owner and yet help the value of steem rather than hurt it.

Really good explanation of the topic and included a lot of things that I have not heard before and did not know. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for watching! I really appreciate it when people take the time to actually watch my vids. How’s the music coming?

A little slow at the moment due to work being busy and I have been trying to plan a big video/music project. I am excited because I am going to be trying to spend some time recording my dad performing and getting it posted to his account. Hope all is well with you and your fam. How has the weather been down there? It has been crazy here. That has been slowing me down a bit as well. It's cold and snowing right now and that just makes me want to hibernate.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63548.34
ETH 2646.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74