Don't ask for upvotes. Do these instead…

in #steemit6 years ago

I am trying to help you. This is not a rant and I have no intention of bringing anybody down.
Just trying to help you. And this is my personal opinion.

mindset.png

I see you

Please, don't sent me messages to upvote you. I can understand that maybe this kind of approach could be acceptable in your culture/country and maybe it works with others.

BUT, it doesn't work with me and many other people in this platform. We consider it spam and annoying. As much as I respect your point of view, I demand mine to be also respected and I am clearly telling you what I want. And I don't enjoy deleting or ignoring messages, but I do it , when I get these kind of messages.

Spammers are spammers and I don't care about them. I am spending valuable time to write this post for those , and I believe they are many, who genuinely think it is the right thing to do.

Well, it's not. Most of us see this kind of behavior not help asking, but begging and I wonder if you want to be seen as such.

So, here's what you could do instead.

Give and Engage

Let me tell you a story… Back in 2012 there was a desperate civil engineer in Greece called ilias that was hit by a huge financial crisis and was almost out of business. Yes, that was me. Don't remember how, but I found a British blogger located in the Philippines named Chris Ducker. I saw something in Chris that inspired me. And for a whole year , I shared and commented all his blog posts. And when I say commented , I mean a page long comments most of the times. And I bought his books and I took his courses and I went to his seminars. For example, in 2013 I paid 1000 euros to travel to London to attend his first ever mastermind. I give him first all the value that I could and I never asked for anything. He gave me back. He personally consulted me and helped me grow my business, he remembers me by name, he even called me out in his last event and in front of 350 people and said that ilias was one of the two people in the event that supported him from the beginning. That felt really good I can tell you. Now, Chris is a New York Times best selling author and multi millionaire and of course I don't sent him PMs , but I know that whenever I need him he has my back.

ducker mastermind 3.jpg

Do first to others , what you want them to do to you. Do you want an upvote ? Fine . Why don't you upvote me first ? I know that your vote is next to nothing, but it doesn't matter. Sometimes it is the gesture that counts. Everybody wants to feel that he has the support of his peers no matter how much dollar value this support has. And , we all see who votes us and we remember them and we remember them better if we see a certain name over and over. And what happens then ? We give back. And most probably we give back more than we receive.

And there's more. You can resteem my post. That could be more valuable than your upvote, because more eyes will see the post and more people can potentially vote it. Can you guess what happens when someone does something valuable for another person ? The other person gives back. And he gives back more. Hope you get what I am trying to say.

Wanna chat ? Do you really really want to engage in a conversation with me ? Leave a comment in a post. A meaningful comment. A comment like "nice post" or "awesome" are NOT meaningful neither welcome. Show me that you read the post and add to the conversation. If you don't have anything to say, it's all right, don't be forced to comment. Do it in another time that you would have something interesting to say. You will find plenty of opportunities to do so. And when I see you enough times in my blog then you can send me all the PMs that you want.

ask first.png

This is the secret of success in Steemit. Give first without asking and engage with other steemians. Simple as that . Give and you shall receive.

Be exceptional and no one will deny you

You may be new to the platform, you may have a little steem power , you may feel like a small fish in a huge ocean. It's all right, we all started from somewhere. You may see whales vote your friends and you get ingored. You may feel lost, disappointed and frustrated. Instead of whining about Steemit, deal with it. Life isn't fair, neither is Steemit. Instead of begging for a small vote, be exceptional.

be exceptional.png

Be so good that everybody will notice you. Your friends write 500 words ? You write 2000. They post a photo? You post a photo from a pro camera and with lightroom editing. They make videos from their garage ? You make a video with proper lights and sound. I think you get the point. And I think I can hear you saying that I am new , I don't know this and that and my English is no good and …Stop it !!! Yes, you don't know YET … You can learn and you can practice and you have to be patient. You have to put on the work and you have to put on the hours. Do you want Flauwy's or Pappa-Peppers rewards ? Well, me too. Do you know how many posts and how many videos they published day in and day out ? They worked their @sses and they became exceptional and now they reap the rewards of their hard effort. And go check their first posts. They sucked. Just like my first posts, just like everybody's first posts. But they persevered , they consistently improved and they became awesome. And I sure they never asked for upvotes from any one. They EARNED them all.

Don't be a whiner and don't be an asker. Be a hustler !

Be patient, be great and in the end no one will deny you.

Be awesome and you will get what you deserve.

And until we all get what we deserve…
Be healthy, Smile and Steem.

footer  1680x8400.jpeg

Pictures made with free elements from canva.com

Sort:  

Good point and I do my best to post about the same issue.
Link
If we do not help them and show them how to have etiquette. It will be our problem.
Keep on steemin’

Liked your post. We have to do our best to educate people.
If they can adapt good for them.

Good read and totally agree, cheers mike

thank you mike. :)

Lol
I am laughing because I'm a culprits.
I do feel like getting the world in a day. I would have been in this platform for years without knowing this right step to follow. Your God sent @illiasdiamantis. I see why they do say that "the patience dog eats the fattest bone"

Thank you. Actually, you were the reason I wrote this post. I could have easily deleted your message , just as I did with so many that I received. But, then I thought that I should something more productive about it. Spend some hours to write this and now I have something to sent back if I get these kind of a messages.
And now you have more knowledge and more choice.
You can act accordingly. It's in your hands.
Steem on !!! :)

Simfono apolita!

Off topic...
Are you currently working as a civil engineer? I work in the same general field (architecture - renewal / restoration) so I'm curious what type of projects you might be involved in!

Cheers!

Thanks for resteeming.
I am specialized in store licences ( bars , cafes , restaurants etc ). But I am leaving the field to become a pro blockchain blogger. If you have some projects we can work , lets meetup and discuss becuase most probably I will leave the office to my business partner.

It was worth the resteem!

Where are you located?

I wanted you to know that I know the resteem . It's not that easy with the notification system that we have.
I am located in Athens.

This is exactly the kind of novel attitude this community has which I love... How many other communities would users take time to really try and educate their community and bring them up to speed with important life lessons that will help them find success?

Seriously, instead of hating on spammers (often from different cultures and societies with different kinds of values), this post perfectly encapsulates the way our community is taking the patient approach, trying to bring everybody together and build a consensus...

This is really important message and one that needs to be amplified...

A Resteem for you for having a very human and personable story of your life to share with us! This adds value to our blockchain! xx

Thanks for resteeming.
It wasn’t a long time ago , that I also got pissed off by spammers. But I have a friend that operates an NGO that helps refugees and educated me in their culture and way of behavior. It really opened my mind.
Different people have different perspectives and we should respect the model of the world of each human being.

No worries! It actually all ties in with my latest article. I was writing about how the rewards-pool incentivizes reaching out with the community and trying to build on a culture of genuine wealth-creation... Everybody here has at least had one thousand dollar idea... If all of these ideas could be captured and held in one place, that would make that place the most dynamic and exciting center of activity in the world!

But how do we do this is the culture is divided and schizoid... If people have this idea that somehow Steem has this mana-from-Heaven value that comes out of nowhere...

That cannot work, there's nothing sustainable about that kind of model... People have to be incentivized to do their absolute best, to share something absolutely unique, pertinent, timely, helpful, informative... This has real value... This is how social media should functions.

But yeah, I specifically made reference to the fact that posts like yours are actually the norm on Steemit, not the exception... We all have a stake in educating each other, helping each other grow, and rewarding each other's absolute best behaviors and additions to this blockchain.

You can check it out here if you'd like to see my appraisal of this community and how absolutely delightfully it is all coming together! Warning, slightly starry-eyed and inspirational content!

Thanks for your participation and involvement in the chain!
Peace and love,
Hae-Joo

I also see Steemit as a huge social experiment. It's in our hands to make it work in our collective favor or we can screw it over and return to our facebook misery.

Amen Ilias xx

I have to say I just re-read this post and actually really love the tone! It's a great message and I'm glad I resteemed it :)
A+ for motivational character building speech! xx

I am so grateful and thankful for this article! I am not as sensitive about the upvote requests; however, I strongly align with the points suggested in opposition! Being self accountable is a priority, in my opinion. These points have been well presented, also. Thank you for putting it out there!

Like I said , this is only my opinion. People can do whatever they think is right and live with the consequences.
Thanks for resteeming.

YES! 🙌

Nice article Ilias, you took a lot of time to express many of my own thoughts!

I disagree only in on thing, I do not think one should see what others do and do better. One should try to improve their own actions.

I cannot do better than you, because you are unique in what you are doing. I cannot copy you, I can only take ideas from you and in a way implement them in my thoughts, so that I create my own idea.

If my yesterday's article was good, this means I can do better next time. If my yesterday's article sucked, it gives me a clue what to avoid.

And now that I proved I read your article, upvote for upvote ? lol :P

I really like the way you write and how you present your posts.

Thanks for introducing Chris, I did not know him to be honest : )

Let's keep smiling and steeming!

I see your point . Here’s mine : basically I focus on myself and use others as a measuring stick. When you are solely focused on you lies the danger of a slow development.
Take the post example. If you post 1 word per post , 2 words per post is an improvement. But when you see others post 500 words per post, you may realize that 2 words are not enough and try to up your game and thus speed up your development.
I always loved some good ol’ friendly competition.
Chris is great . But i am biased to be honest. :)
You gave me enough flatter so you have my upvote. Now follow for follow . :)
And seriously you are excellent writer yourself and there is not doubt in my mind that you will be successful here.
Be healthy and Smile !!!

I would like to respond something really clever to this, but my brain is burnt from my previous post and the research over it ...

Don’t worry, preserve your precious brain cells . You will have plenty of opportunities. :)

Good post man. I will need to have a look at Chris Ducker. Did he help with your engineering business or did you start a new business?

Are things picking up in Greece now or is it still the same?

Also, can I have an upvote?

He helped build a successful website for my engineering office and gave a kick in the butt to take action. I also met people that helped me along the way.
I would say it is worse. We haven’t figured out why “the crisis” happened and blame all the others but never ourselves. We don’t try to improve and develop. And this makes matters worse. I am not sure if there is a way out and as you will see in the very near future I am closing business and embarking on another journey.
Upvote ? Everybody gets an upvote in this blog !!!
But folow mi please . :)

Read your article plus the many answers in the comments section (most of them) and I have a point of view that differs from yours.

My main interest is not Steemit; my interest is in people. I see some terrible first posts and I open them to read. If I get a feeling that the poster is talented, (I'm a sucker for talents) I am happy to spend time on them, helping them to become better posters than me. Here is where I differ from you and many of the other good members - If the poster does not touch me and I see no effort made, I shut their post with either no comment, or a rather curt one, telling them what they are doing wrong and warning them that there are those who love flagging such posts.

So, here is what I am doing, as I do not find it easy to scroll back to older pages, they tend to 'stick'.

I have bookmarked your post, so every time I need it, it is instantly available. Maybe I'll also give the link to a few of the ones I don't treat as nicely.

.

So, a question. Do you find it right for a poster to keep asking, in his or her every post to the visitor to upvote and to follow and resteem? Should such reactions not be from the visitor, because he/she/ finds your post exciting/worthy/interesting/funny or whatever?

It is like a person asking their loved one, "Do you love me?" Is their positive answer worth as much as their unasked for "I love you."?

Still, I never ask and even say I am only interested in having readers - so I'm slowing down, not doing so well...

...should I frown?
:(

...should I start adding little gifs pointing out that they should....?

A point of view that differs from mine ? Great !!! Thank you for bring another perspective to the conversation .

My main interest is not Steemit; my interest is in people.

I would agree on that.

Here is where I differ from you and many of the other good members - If the poster does not touch me and I see no effort made, I shut their post with either no comment, or a rather curt one, telling them what they are doing wrong and warning them that there are those who love flagging such posts.

Many posters do that ( including me ) , but probably less often than others.

So, a question. Do you find it right for a poster to keep asking, in his or her every post to the visitor to upvote and to follow and resteem? Should such reactions not be from the visitor, because he/she/ finds your post exciting/worthy/interesting/funny or whatever?

That is an interesting question. These gifs you see are called Call To Action (CTA) and it is the action we want the reader to take after he/she finishes the article. Conventional blogging wishdom that cames from research says that if you don't tell the other person what do to, it is possible that it will do nothing.
If you have any research that says any different I will take it into consideration.

And last about the asked "I love you". Some people brains are hard-wired in a way that it is important to them to be reassured of the love of the other person or they need to listen to it. Don't be harsh them , it's their neurology that's speaking. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86