My thoughts on Steemit after reaching 100+ followers!

in #steemit7 years ago

I’ve been here about two months and I’ve reached the milestone of 100 followers. I’m very excited about this achievement and I thought I’d take a minute to reflect.

When I first arrived, I had given up Facebook for Lent and had every intention of going back there after it was over. After finding Steemit, however, I haven’t felt the need or desire. I’ve found my new social networking home. Despite a few annoyances, I feel like Steemit has more pluses than negatives.

One of the first things I appreciate is the diversity. There are people from all countries and all walks of life here. While that may be true on Facebook, there’s less of an incentive to interact with people outside of your normal social group. Here, you’re encouraged and rewarded by creating new contacts that can read and vote on your content.

Another thing that I like is, of course, the rewards. Even if a post only earns a few cents, it’s nice to know that your effort isn’t for naught. I’ve had a few posts do decently and it’s always very cool to feel like your contribution is appreciated. I never would have shared my story about my issues with addiction on Facebook. Here, my posts in that regard were well received.

This is also a great place for feedback on your content. I recently re-started a novel that I gave up years ago and the comments are always very helpful. I’ve shared my music, poetry, and writing and it feels great. Normally, I would never have posted such things in a public space.

The diversity of content is a big plus as well. Besides there being a diversity of people, there’s also a great deal of interesting content. It’s fascinating to see what stuff shows up in my feed every morning.

That being said, I do still have a few issues with the platform. The first is the bots. I have to admit that when I found out that most of my content was voted on by bots and not actually viewed, it was a little bit disheartening.

The second issue – which is just a byproduct of being a social platform – is politics. I’ve been fortunate enough to keep out of this problem, but I’ve been here long enough to know that it exists. I just try to keep my head down and post quality content.

A third problem, which I hope will eventually be erased is lack of exposure. I believe that many people would prefer this to other platforms – if only they knew it existed. I’ve tried to tell my friends about it, but it needs a bigger news push.

Overall, I’m extremely happy with my time here at Steemit. I can’t wait to see what happens as the year and the platform progresses. I hope to meet many more interesting folks and to share my work with them.

Thanks for reading and if you enjoyed, please comment and/or follow!

IMG_20170520_112215092.jpg

Sort:  

thanks for sharing this we appreciate you

Thanks for sharing
Hope to reach 1000 followers soon
Upvoted

Nice post, @ikilledcobain. I've been on Steemit for only two months but i like the fact that there's an audience for my writing and posts almost from the start. When i started my own blog on wordpress and blogger it was the sound of crickets for months before traction built up.

Me da gusto saber que te guste tanto steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49