Bigger share of reward pool to commenters needed?

in #steemit7 years ago

For those who browse Reddit, as how important do you see the comment section for overall success of Reddit as an platform?

We are giving a carrot for people to post about anything that might be of interest for other people, yet many people have voiced a concerning opinion. They'd rather have more engagement between other users rather than bigger monetary rewards.

How steemit should feel



Great topics full of conversation from various different people chiming in with their own stories and opinions

But is now more like



Getting a paycheck from automated voting, voting guilds and trails. 0 or very little social interaction.

Social platform or not?


200 votes, 7 views and 0 comments. Not so unusual sight is it? If I were to make a post about the life of my grandfather, as an example, would I rather get 4 dollars from automated voting or read stories about grandfathers from other people. There's nothing social about getting a paycheck for your stories yet Steem as platform does very little to encourage actual social interaction between users. We all are busy writing own stories that most don't read and sometimes get little monetary reward.

More interaction is bad?


Now let's imagine someone stumbling on my post about my grandfather. Would the value the reader gains by reading my post increase 10% if it would contain handful of quirky, funny, emotional comments of other people sharing their own memories of their grandfathers? Yes 10% is a number that most people supported as a share of rewards for comment pool! Yet the readers would actually valuate comments far higher.

Why not?


So those who are against increasing comment reward pool. I'd like to hear why not? How many have the time to scroll dozens of pages for content they like? Rather focus on quality as in great posts with lots of great comments!

This started as an comment that I were writing in https://steemit.com/futurology/@kevinwong/the-attention-economy-and-the-net-april-1997-michael-h-goldhaber post, yet I decided to write my own post about it as there are minimal reward for commenting and we all know it. So instead of having condensed packets of great social interaction we have a sea of individual pockets void of social interaction

@dantheman I'd encourage you to stick to 38% increase, see how it plays out and decrease it if results aren't what we wish for.

Sort:  

I have been on steemit for two days and I think you formulated my first opinion perfectly. Kind of takes away the point of creating content if nobody looks at it. Even if you get ten cents out of it.

Thank you. Even if the content on reddit would stay the same my time on that site would be reduced greatly without comments and Steemit really doesn't do much to give people incentive to comment. Authors were against increase to 38% but smaller share of something big is better than big share of nothing or very little.

I agree with you on the feeling which Steemit should has. Thanks for sharin, Igster!
Upvoted & Followed you as well.

Thank you for feedback. I'm slowly seeing comment numbers rising, hopefully the trend continues. Followed back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58625.96
ETH 3101.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41