Steemit.com Error's, Reloads and More Errors

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I am at a loss, I am also new around here. My friend bought me this account as he had just started and has been having a blast with this community and making some really cool friends via steemit.chat

I want to but I am not having the same experience. I wasn't able to even get onto Steemit.com a few weeks ago. I am able to get on now but there are delays on my voting, my comments and my edits. This is enough that if I found this site on my own that I would have just said forget steemit.com it's a joke site and not run properly.

I got to thinking about what is really going on that is making these things happen. Some claim the error's a few weeks ago were caused by a DdOS attack group, why wasn't a feature like cloudflare in place to protect against these attacks or one of the many other ways offered on the internet that only cost a few dollars per day or sometimes only a few dollars per year. What caused this DdOS attack? How is there so much attention to a site that doesn't have that many active members to draw the time it takes to DdOS attack a site.

I started digging, I see one major player has stepped off of the Steemit project. From what I can tell Dan has just up and left. That is crushing when 50% of the intelligence leaves a project in one motion. So I looked for who was next on the list of most benefit. I came to Ned. Ned seems very smart and a great addition to the remaining team at Steemit but he also seems to be off in right field licking rocks at the moment.

Ned seems stuck on new income streams for the majority shareholders of Steem. SMT's are a great idea once Steemit.com is running as a well oiled machine but reality is steemit is not running any better than my 65 y/o neighbors website she made in 30 minutes using godaddy.

Now today I see Steemit is going to have a new logo. A new logo should come at a time of increased improvement to a company not during a time when things are running at half totality. As I said I am new but I would hope the current state of the site steemit.com is NOT running at full potential. That said let's get this place fixed and leave SMT's and new logo's where they belong, to be released on a fully functional steemit.com running at full STEEM!

@ned I hope you can see these issue's from an outsiders point of view and you get your house in order before looking like you're just in this for a money grab at this point.

images.jpg

Sort:  

I suspect your speaking for many.
Steem as a concept is great. The implementation of that concept is top heavy.
Whales & bots will kill steem before it has a chance to take off.

I haven't even learned about the bots yet. What do you mean by bots?
I don't agree whales will ruin the place as their vote is what we aim for is it not?

Bots (robots) do most of the voting around here.
All automated & scripted. whales voting for whales etc.

Congratulations @ifartrainbows! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59060.44
ETH 2608.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43