Steemit users flagging for personal and competative reasons

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I wrote a somewhat controversial post (to normies) the other day that took much time and involved much research. I am very new to Steemit, so I was very happy to see my post get to £1.97 within minutes, I thought to myself "wow, this post will make some money" And now 3 days later it's down to $0.29

This post contains all my own work, so as it is "controversial", I can only assume that people who disagree with my research or point of view are flagging it for personal or political reasons.

When I first read about Steemit, I thought it looked like a great platform for free speech and devoid of censorship. But it seems that the blue pill swallowing ideologues don't like any difference of opinion, and abuse their power to flag by flagging posts when they don't agree with opinions in that post. Imagine if we could do that to CNN, or FOX, or whoever, it's great if you're someone that claims to be all for freedom of expression but then tries to stop opinions they don't agree with. We get to "vote" on mainstream media by not watching, but on Steemit, you can attack the other sides view point.

This flag for any reason policy is so open to abuse and needs to be fixed, or people can go around flagging content that competes with theirs. There should be at the very least a rule that makes the flagger post an explanation why they flagged it, of course that is so open for abuse that more needs to be done, or many people will be marginalised on Steemit.

Whether you agree with me or not, are you someone that wishes to stop me from expressing myself?
Quote - "The fascists of the future will be called anti-fascists"

Link to my very "offensive" article. https://steemit.com/conspiracy/@icarus/corruption-and-destruction-of-the-west-explained-part-1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65753.03
ETH 3281.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68