Question for the Whales/experts - Will internet regulation affect Steemit?

in #steemit7 years ago

The internet to me is the most amazing thing. It gives us so much power as individuals that we can share any information, research and learn almost anything, and of course gives us the power to create our own currency.

Talk of net neutrality and regulation has been going on for as long as I can remember, the latest attack on internet freedom is from Theresa May, claiming that regulation will stop terrorism. Myself and many others just believe this to be an excuse to stop the freedom the internet allows the average citizen.

I think that more and more regulation is inevitable, the people with power that constantly try to shape the world in their vision have too much to lose. It seems that anything is being used as an excuse to remove our freedoms in the West these days. Of course cryptocurrency is no exception.


Source https://bitcoinmagazine.com/sections/regulation/

My question is, what power does any government have over a cryptocurrency and websites like Steemit. Can they even physically stop us using cryptocurrency, will cryptocurrency move to the dark net, and if it did, would it lose most it's value.

I am new to Steemit, and the whole idea of cryptocurrencies both confuses and excites me, any time I can go against big government I'm a happy man, but are we destined to lose this fight? What can be done to keep our own unregulated currencies?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65753.03
ETH 3281.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68