How I found steemit

in #steemit8 years ago

How I came across steemit was a weird journey for me.
It wasn't how I expected to come across something like this. Then again, that's how life is.

I have a huge respect and love for the power of words. Some of the greatest leaders and tyrants ever gained power and moved people to do some of the most awesome, incredible, positive things and some of the most terrible things, with their words.


"No matter what anybody tells you, words and ideas can change the world" Robin Williams - Dead Poets Society

Image of Robin Williams on Table
Image from dailymail.co.uk

I've always enjoyed the art of writing. Growing up I would write poetry, raps, books, stories, screenplays... you name it. As much as I enjoyed it though, I never felt like I found a community or site that supported writers, of all kinds, in such a way that the steemit community does.

So big shout out and thank you to you awesome people!


That being said. A few years back I had the wool removed from my eyes and saw the world for what it was. I was angry, scared, frustrated, excited, nervous and overall motivated. Motivated to find any body else that saw what I saw.

On my quest to find a community of "awake" people, I came across an "anarchist" by the name of Adam Kokesh. I was watching his videos and was like, "Okay. I agree with what this guy is saying. Lets see what happens." I followed his story and even read his book Freedom!, which I highly encourage everybody to take a look at. It's available here.

Every now and then, his girlfriend at the time, would appear in his videos or in his instagram photos. Of course I started following her on instagram, because I found her attractive, but I quickly realized what an incredible human being she was. She was always smiling and had such a contagious passion for what she cares about, it was inspiring. It sounds like I may or may not have a boyish crush on her, because of that.

Any way, she started posting on steemit, so after reading her article I started checking out the site and I signed up shortly after and it's been a very positive experience so far.
A huge THANK YOU goes out to Macey Tomlin. You can follow her articles here.


"We don't read and write poetry because it's cute. We read and write poetry because we are members of the human race. And the human race is filled with passion. And medicine, law, business, engineering, these are noble pursuits and necessary to sustain life. But poetry, beauty, romance, love, these are what we stay alive for." Robin Williams - Dead Poets Society

Image of Robin Reading
Image from hollywoodreporter.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54414.30
ETH 2295.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30