Tried and trusted methods on how to do Steemit fulltime and make money while doing it. ( Part 2 of 3 )

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)


Image Source

So here we are at Part 2 of this 3-part series where I tell you what has worked for me here on this platform. These methods have enabled me to do Steemit fulltime. No I don't make millions, no I don't only "work" for 3 hours a day, and no, it isn't a walk in the park. It takes dedication & hard work, and I'm still a small fry compared to others, but I'm building up and moving forward.

A gentleman pointed out some figures in my previous post regarding Steemit fulltime. Please note that some weeks it dips for me financially, some weeks it's over and above, so they basically even each other out. Regardless I have a target financially I need to achieve and I am achieving that, hence this 3-part series.

Targetting your demographic.


Image Source

When you start out you'll probably be asking, "I don't know what to write about". I was like that too. In the beginning I was all over the place. I started with blogging. Then someone told me, "You should do vlogs". So I tried that and it worked. For me, I'm a total idiot. I love making people laugh and playing the jester. Currently my target audience is basically just anyone who would like a good laugh, or anyone whom I can help through my life experiences.

I've written about life lessons, I've vlogged about funny role playing etc. Each person is different, so find your niche as they say, and if it works for you, stick with it. It's good to obviously try new avenues or branch out a little, but know your target audience and focus on them. For instance, I don't blog / vlog about crypto, the markets etc. Why? Because that isn't my target audience. There are much more knowledgable individuals on here that know what they're talking about regarding that. I am not one of them so I steer clear from that.

If you like doing How-To's, and you get a good reception constantly, then maybe that's your niche / target market. If you like being serious all the time and get a good reception, then maybe that's your target demographic. Basically find out what works for you and stick to that. It's going to take trial and error, but hey, I had to go through that aswell, as I'm sure many others had to.

Voting and getting votes


Image Source

Voting and getting votes is obviously how you make your money on your posts. If no one votes then duh, you make nothing. However, you must also vote on other people's posts as this earns you money aswell. With my vote only being worth a measely $0,02 I upvote my own posts. It's enabled by default if I'm not mistaken, but as your Steem Power grows and your votes start becoming worth $10 and up, you might want to reconsider upvoting yourself.

This is totally up to you whether you want to or not. For me personally, if mine was worth $10, I'd probably upvote myself like 20% or so. That's only if I'm not reaching target. If I'm already reaching my post target, financially, then I won't upvote myself. It's just what I would do, you can decide what you would want to do with your own vote. So vote for your followers, even if it's $0,02. It shows that you're also supporting them, even if it is with your time and your confidence in their posts.

Getting votes I have noticed that when I comment on people's posts, valuable comments and not one liners, they tend to upvote me. There's a few cents or a few dollars already I've made. In turn the author might head on over to your profile and upvote your post too. So in my opinion it's win-win. Upvote other people's content ( if you feel it's worth an upvote ) and usually they'll return the favor hence you receiving upvotes.

Getting followers


Image Source

The more followers you have = The more exposure you have on the blockchain. Think of it was a business. If you have 5 clients and you send out a mail informing them of a special you're having, only 5 of them see it. Have 1000 clients and do the same thing, the greater the chance you have of someone actually taking advantage of your special. Basically it's a numbers game. I have many "dead" followers as many Steemians have. Followers who have been AFK for months or are inactive on the platform.

The method that has worked for me getting new followers is commenting. A good place to start is in the "introduceyourself" section. Yes these are new Steemians and their votes aren't worth much, but they could've been introduced by a whale or an investor. Be nice to them and chances are they'll name drop you to the whale who is their friend or family member. But be genuine, don't be fake. Don't be fake just to hopefully get new followers or votes.

For me what has also worked a great deal is a Resteem from a whale. I've been very fortune to have a couple Resteems from a whale back in the day when I started. My followers jumped up a great deal after those resteems. The monetary value of my post jumped up too. So see if you cannot gran the attention of a whale for a Resteem. Don't beg, don't spam. Create good content and if a whale likes it they'll most probably Resteem it for you. Always be grateful for no matter what the exposure is.


Image Source

  • Patience & Dedication
  • Closing thoughts

Disclaimer: The information in this post is what worked for me. Every person is different but the information listed is a good foundation to build upon.

Sort:  

thank you for sharing, steemit is an ideal economic source, good job friend.

Thank you so much for the kind words.

Very helpful to me...thanks....upvoted and following.

Greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Got it! Yeah.... This is it. Do what works for you and don't be a copy cat(jumping around). Find your niche and stick to it, do that which you have passion for and that which you can do with so much ease without having to struggle over it.
I'd sure hit mine I know... @iamnotageek, this has sure cleared all doubts for me.

So glad it helped you :)
Thank you for the comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63410.49
ETH 3058.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99