Revealing Your True Self for All to See. Can You Do It?

in #steemit7 years ago

Most would like to say "Yes" but the inner demons say "No!"

Many of the lessons we are taught as children get thrown right out the window as adults. Many of you may be like myself having had parents that taught me to just be myself. That we are all unique and that we should all be comfortable with whomever we are. That our individuality, when embraced, often only strengthens our society. I imagine this is a common philosophy passed down within most families living inside of free thinking societies. Why is it so hard to live by those lessons today?

I think a big part of it must do with how the culture of social media has evolved. With more control and ability to filter our public appearance, hiding our insecurities and deepest darkest secrets has become an everyday thing. Not that hiding our deepest, darkest secrets is anything new. It is all the little things that people hide away from public scrutiny today without an extra thought, that is deserving of attention right now. Those little things for the most part are the nuances that make us who we are.

Look, no one wants you to stop polishing up and putting your best face forward when making a public appearance. If v-logging is your thing, yes! I expect you to at least brush your damn teeth before you attempt to make your daily bread. I might want to know more about your incredible lunch and exactly where you came upon such a magnificent meal if I am not being distracted by the remnants of said meal throwing a party between your teeth. Can I get an Amen?! Yes, handle your hygiene. Do the minimals. Let us get back to the point.

Steemit is a different type of social beast. A platform that lifts the unique and the real. A platform that leverages value in every interaction and passes that value directly to the individual creators involved on a micro level. Steemit naturally promotes those same childhood lessons. Be yourself. Be proud of whomever you are. Put it out there! Don’t be afraid to show a little personality. Strengthen the community and embrace our diversity! No, I don’t want to see the skeletons in your closet and nope, you are not going to see mine! That doesn’t mean I don’t want to get to know you!

Reach out. Build your network. Let the fake fade away into obscurity and if nothing else support real everywhere you see it! This is the strength of Steem! Steem on Steemians! 

@i-am-wade

Thank you for your interest in my post! If you liked what you read you can follow me @i-am-wade. If you up-voted this post or resteem'd, again thank you! I look forward to reading your comments and if you have any success tips of your own that you'd like to contribute, by all means, join the conversation!

Another

Dryer Kitty Production

article images courtesy of pixabay.com

Sort:  

hello @i-am-wade
nice to meet you , , nice post , nce thought , you made take a break in my steemit reading , a moment of intense thinking about what i really want to do or acomplish , steemit is nice , but its cold , only people are warm and without us stemmit doesnt exist
up voted and soon followed see you around

@loooping

I appreciate the kind words! The focus on people somewhat being true to themselves is a nice change here on steemit. I followed you as well. See you around!

yes @i-am-wade i always try to be have a good karma to not fool people or doing stupid trick or whatever we can do when we are young i definetly think that what goes around come around and if you do wrong it will come back sonner or later but the sonner is better ahahaha see you around of course wth pleasure sharing some thought or some idea or some funny or some recipe

@looping

Wow...! I wish I had read this a month ago.... Wade you're on the same level I'm on these days. I followed and upvoted... I don't care if it paid out already or not.... this post was worth it to me. Thank you for it.

Reposting it too BTW...

The less people know about you, the less harm can occur in your life. Mitigate risk, don't increase it.

Agreed. Finding the balance on a platform like this is a tricky thing. On one hand as a blogging platform we are all trying to market ourselves to some extent. Yes there are a bunch of people on here content to browse the topics and entertain themselves but for those trying to make their mark, trying to figure how much of their true selves to share with the world is a pretty big issue. It seems the more you put yourself out there the more valuable you become but it's like pandora's box. Once a public figure, open game right? Most people play it safe and still create a character they play out even in their personal blogs. I'm no different. I polish up my posts before presenting as best I can all so I hopefully don't end up looking like a fool or an ass. Thanks for the comment!

Yes, I agree with what you write man. Personally I am planning to write open-minded on here, but remain anonymous. I would really not appreciate it if everyone irl knew how I truelly think.
'perception is everything', and sometimes it's better for others to THINK they know you, than that they really do. :)

just get in now

damn it you just slap me in the face like batman did to robin,
the day he asks for the keys of the batmobile for going in a date with catwoman .
@timsnaj you right anyway never give information , but for i have nothing to hide , but but you right i have to understand that , all people are not same , or doesnt think that we should all share what w have can be more awesome for evry one

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60535.47
ETH 2656.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46