My 3 Theories On Why People Leave Steemit/DTube

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Watch On DTube

Why Should I Be Here?

Someone convinces you to sign up for Steemit. Maybe they they convince you that making make money here is as easy as blinking your eyes and that this is a new revolutionary social media hub. They may also pitch this cool and new decentralized version of YouTube to you, DTube, where you are able to have your content monetized much quicker. While getting paid from Steemit and DTube are more than possible, how quickly that happens can get overlooked. So people land on these platforms and are surprised by what they see.

Now I'm not saying that everyone that first joins does not do well financially or gain influence quickly because I have seen that too but that is not necessarily the default. That is unless these creators are already popular or semi-known outside of the platform. People get discouraged for a number of reasons and leave. I want to present to you my 3 theories or thoughts on why people leave Steemit or DTube.

Reasons People Leave Steemit/DTube

  • Making pennies on a post- People put alot of work into creating content only to get paid crumbs
  • Hard To Find Their Place- People feel like they can't find community
  • Don't See The Potential In These Platforms- People are unaware of the social and technological implications of Steemit/DTube

You could probably come up with other reasons for why people leave as I would love to hear your thoughts on it. If you are considering leaving Steemit or DTube or have considered it I would love to hear your thoughts. I see the potential of Steemit and even more so DTube but we have to be patient to see what new things develop over time. As always much love and peace to everyone.

What are some reasons why people leave Steemit/DTube?

Have you joined the OneLoveDtube discord group HERE?

Image 1 2


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Yes, you are right in your judgments. Many people come to the platform in order to get money. But they do not succeed and they leave. There is a category of talented but not persistent people. That is, they create amazing and interesting content, but they lack perseverance and patience. They create interesting content, but it remains untouched and they despair.

There is also a category of people for my personal observations. These are people who "are in a boat while there is no storm behind." For example, I spend time on forums about crypto-currencies. I noticed the pattern. When the price of cryptocurrency is growing - people write that everything is fine and it will be forever. But as soon as the value of the cryptocurrency falls, these same people write that this is the end. They rush into panic and arrange a funeral for this cryptocurrency. These people I call windy. In which direction the wind blows from that side they are looking. Today, this man is your friend, and tomorrow he is your enemy. This also applies to steemit. There are many such people here. When the cost of SBD was high - they praised the platform. Today, the cost is reduced and they just go away and say that this is the end. They do not try to understand that now the bear market and this is temporary.

I'm glad that there are people who believe in the platform and continue to work. Together we are the strength of the guys and we must continue our work. In the future, everyone who has spent his time and energy here - will be generously rewarded. You need to be patient and continue to work.
Thank you

Agreed, a factual observation. I have been on here since October and had that same hype as those you have spoken of. Started me self up and Posted bland content. Luckily, My recently Deceased friend (aka @adept) was a Computer Programmer and then some. Reason I am here now is his doing. Always had the heads up. His upvote was worth around $15.00 and really helped me out with getting upvoted, as well as gaining followers such as Dolphins or Whales. He had been hired by @ned and the team but sadly had passed on from Earth. So that, along with little to no rewards and followers lead me to step away from @Steemit.com.
Tho I had not lost faith nor do I really doubt the success @Steemit.com is and will attain. I came up with some tactics on how to gain the people and the money.

1.  Optimism and Confidence- A MUST! Steemit is still in infancy stage. Of coarse there are mishaps. Steemit.com/Steem Blockchain is young and shall adapt
2.  Consistency- In the idea that content I create has a core. A general basis of Theme and main topic that I bring to the platform most frequently
3.  Find other Steemians that hold your interests and ALWAYS CHECK THEIR CONTENT and create a bond. They will do so as well
4.  Blockchain/Crypto Education- The help is everywhere. Use the tools and do research.

That is a few ideals I can see as a huge aid here on Steemit.
That is it for now, time to sleep.

That is, one of the main conditions here is to contact other users (support, promotion, commenting). It is important to find people who will support your interests. Here the principle - "you to me, and I to you" works. Reciprocity.
Recently, I prefer to communicate with users in a discord. In a personal conversation, it's easier to start an interesting conversation and learn about a person and his goals. It is interesting.

Yes it seems that Discord and Steemit have somewhat of partnership here lol. Perfect Social interaction through Discord. I became aware of Discord after I had already been on here, so I never knew that Discord was generally for Gaming until few months back.

I too have never used discord before. Now this is the best tool for communication between users of steemit. This is a good decision. Are you a member of the discord communities?

yea about 10 of em. that is an estimate tho. World of Photography is one. That is a good server for taking Photo and doing contests. Follow @juliank, she is the creator of that community.

@frank1in Or you could say wishy washy haha. "I love steemit and the price is going through the roof". "I hate steemit because I am not making alot of money due to low steem prices"

I'm glad you got eh right mindset to keep putting in the work no matter what. I do the same buddy.

Making pennies on a post- People put alot of work into creating content only to get paid crumbs

One of my friends doesn't join because of this, he went and saw my blog and told me : " you got some posts that made you 0.60$ that's nothing for all the trouble you had"... i told him "I'm starting out, it's normal for new people to not make that much money..."

People need to realize that social networks are like ladders, we need to climb them day by day, don't expect to make a post and bam 60$... after 1...2 years maybe, but not at the start, the only people that were able to do that much at the start were the ones that already had some following, like the hodgetwins or furiouspete, etc... they were already big youtubers in the fitness community...
I look at dtube /steemit as a 2 years investment, i'll keep posting, making my own content and in 2 years i will see where i go with it... yes it takes time, but i guess it's time well spent, at least it's better than me spending hundreads of hours in front of a TV screen or monitor watching TV shows or playing games right...

And people are leving because the price is going down... camon guys, the price can't always go up, if it did we were in a huge ass bubble, these types of corrections where the price lowers are healthy for the crypto market!

I think that is a solid plan you got there to stick with it for a couple of years. I have been on Steemit for about a year and a half now and I've come a long way from when I first started. So you are definitely headed in the right direction.

If you dont make big money on Steemit, but you see the potential to establish yourself into the community, than find a way how Steemit workes out for you.

-You can use steemit as a diary, all posts are stored for ever on the blockchain.
-You can use Steemit to meet interesting people
-Use your blog to as a tool to give, not to recive...

Have fun and stay creative!

If you use Steem in that way while ignoring the money aspect it doesn't sound that bad, but then again, the money aspect is what makes Steem awesome and most come for that reason.

They think it is easy to make money here but it isn't. They simply have the wrong expectations and go back to Twitter, Facebook, Wordpress or whatever and make $0 there for years.

Basically what @Teutonium said below:

People need to realize that social networks are like ladders, we need to climb them day by day, don't expect to make a post and bam 60$... after 1...2 years maybe, but not at the start, the only people that were able to do that much at the start were the ones that already had some following, like the hodgetwins or furiouspete, etc... they were already big youtubers in the fitness community...

If they all knew that before they probably wouldn't quit so early or join in the first place.

Im not ignoring the money aspect, i see myself making some income here but like you said it can be a long way to that goal.

But thinking about money, hiw much my posts make the first way is making me sick. It drains my creative and motivational energy.

To not quit i have to see what other things i get back for my invested time and the earlier metioned points are some of them.

My steemit careier is a long term investment thats why i honor your endurance man!

Thank you Bronko, just keep working.
Like you said, it is a huge time investment.

@bronkong Keep going man it will pay off for you. It will for all of us who keep moving forward and producing content. We have to have confidence even when times seem a little rough.

Yes i agree, great future for passioned and motivated people!💪💛

Another interesting disscusion by @humanearl sir...
Dtube is a video upload platform that runs on the steemit platform. Content creators upload videos to a channel. Dtube is structured very much like a YouTube alternative website. Everything about earning on steemit applies to Dtube. You still earn from votes, and you earn STEEM on content for seven days...
On Dtube you earn rewards from votes. Anybody can upload videos and earn votes if people like your content. Other than having a steemit account there are no requirements to earn STEEM. Dtube is also decentralized. Content cannot be removed or censored. Users control what content is shown by voting. DTubes open nature and easy way to earn money could be what attracts people....
As of January 2018, Dtube is still very much a new platform, and it shows. The platform lacks features a more mature website has. The fact that videos only earn for seven days means no long-term earnings. Content creators need to make a lot of content and upload videos often. Creators can't rely on old content to earn money....
Wel done and perfect work sir...

I really hope they change the amount of time you can monetize your content. This would be amazing if they did that.

Well yes this is indeed real easy to get out the income from but like the reasons you stated the 1st one seems to be the main reason behind it !

While in each & every business or any work hard work & determination is indeed needed !

Well I do really hope that people get to be here and enjoy the potential that this community holds !

Money is number 1 in most people's mind I believe. There's not necessarily anything wrong with that but people leave over the issue of not making enough money here even though other sites won't pay you anything at all.

I agree before Steemit I have seen many sites that pays cents only over a load of work and in compared to that Steemit should be the boss of them all !
People's misconception will ware away as the popularity of these community grows ahead !

I just Steemit with hype of if you can write you can earn, so join the bandwagon through training via whatsapp, I was actually happy because before the job I do can sufficiently fend for my need but join it was another game entirely. There are sometimes I feel like quitting, because of penny on posts but I just couldn't give up, that why some days I will not post and some other limitations. One thing that keep me pushing is that people are making it I CAN and I try to know why some people are getting good hits on their post, some have good steem power and some are creating values. So each time I want to post I first ask myself what value will my post be dishing out, though I am not niche based.

For Me cents on post is what is mainly make newcomers to quit Steemit because of the high hope they gave them about Steemit

Just keep giving value man. Your work is good so just keep improving it and getting better. You have tons to offer. If you love doing it then continue.

Thanks for the kind words

The three reasons you have pointed are very valid. These are the top most reasons for leaving this amazing platform.

There are a lot of people who have very small SP and low reputation score but they create quality content. Their blogs don't get enough attention so they are frustrated and leave platform.

Some people come here to gain quick money but that is not possible unless you persevere and create quality content and make strong bonds with people. They don't want to wait and desperately quit steemit. Doing consistent efforts and staying on track is the key to be able to get success on this forum.

One more reason is that not every one is blessed with creativity. Some people cannot find their niche to make quality content so they only try to curate and comment on others' blogs. Some times they don't find good response, dishearten and leave the community.

As you have stated patience is the key to get success. Thank you @humanearl for a thoughtful blog.

I've been asked that question many times. "What should I talk about in my writings or videos?" I simply say talk about what you really enjoy talking about because there will be others who enjoy it as well.

It's also hard to figure out.

Amen Brother,if you all stick together and support each other, continuous building your block party!
Friction=Fusion....
GB :)
#smtfloridacommunity
Toddjr.

Hmm. I hear you on that one brother. You can do more with support than you can do going alone.

@humanearl,
You are absolutely correct, lots of people joined with me and most of them left this platform or less active now! Anyway, people who understand the concept and the way that could make money and attention, still doing well!
Great that you decided to discuss this matter!

Cheers~

I can;t tell you how many people that have come and gone on my posts in the last year and a half. It;s been so many but you have to continue moving forward.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64752.70
ETH 3455.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50