You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Problem With Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

I'm sure everyone handles it differently, but personally it's helped me. I used to be really bad at engaging others online, partly because I was fighting depression, figured most didn't want to hear from me, and all the trolls out there had left me feeling like I'd just get attacked if I expressed me opinion.
After joining Steemit, I pushed my self to engage people more, admittedly to try to gain revenue, but it had a different effect on me. It helped me realize that most of the issues was my own mindset, and that I was the only one holding myself back.
Now I've even found that I am engaging people more on all social platforms despite not being paid for it, and i have seen a growth in my following across the board because of this.
As for the fakers, I think they are screwing themselves over more than anyone else. I've been a faker before, you feel like your behind a mask, and no one likes you for who you are, only who you pretend to be. These people need to most help, but no one can reach them until they want to change. But hopefully communities like Steemit can continue to create an environment that encourages people to care about how they act online, not to just hide behind anonymity, acting like nothing they say matters, so they think trolling is just fun. Worse yet, when they think they need to troll because everyone cares too much, but i have yet to see one if those here in Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50