You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit is a SCAM??? Who ARE These People??? What are they THINKING?

in #steemit7 years ago

It is tough to convince people of steemit and any cryptocurrency as being legit and not a scam...Its just as hard to tell people that fractional reserve banking is a scam....In time people will understand and open their eyes and wake up

Sort:  

@hotassyoga, you're right... but we're also in an emerging field, so skepticism is natural. There was a time when the world thought horseless carriages "would never catch on."

I have never taken the approach of calling fractional reserve banking a "scam," because it gets people's hackles up... and then their minds close to anything I have to say. Instead, I ask them to "explain money" to me... and gently guide them through a journey of "discovery" in which THEY get to conclude that a $100 bill is worth about 2c of ink and paper aside from this idea that we "believe" it is worth something. I don't even *mention" Steem or BTC... I go directly to people in Africa (I lived in Kenya, as a kid) using cowries as money. Which they have done for hundreds of years. Then, and only then do we get to the idea that money is merely a "temporary store of value" and money can be anything from engravings of Ben Franklin to Cowries to electronic tokens known as Steem.

It's time consuming, and I only "bother" with people I believe would genuinely enjoy it here, and would be assets to the community.

I think i will try your approach..I actually stoped trying for a little while because i felt like i was not getting through to anyone...But i will try it again in a new way.Thank you....But i wont force the conversation either

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56443.25
ETH 2493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23