Steemit Book Collaborations to Sell On Amazon and or Kindle to Promote Steemit?

in #steemit7 years ago

I was wondering if anyone had thought about compiling a number of posts (with permission of course) into a book to sell or giveaway as a physical book or on Kindle to get more people interested in Steemit?


Image Source: Pixabay

There are so many possibilities, here are a few ideas off the top of my head...

Poetry
Life hacks
Life lessons
Short fiction stories
Cryptocurrency education
Art coffee table books
Howto craft
Funny original meme books
Funny story collection
Adult coloring book pictures

There are three ways that I can think of that could work to create these Steemit collaborations:

(1) Trawling through past posts and asking permission to use them;
(2) Setting up new posts specifically for book collaborations;
(3) A tag that would mean the poster would be happy for their work to be used in a Steemit collaboration.

What do you think?

I'd be happy to give being an editor a go and if I'm doing it for someone else I will actually finish it in a timely manner!

Sort:  

You know I could fill in a few funny pages with a couple of my stories. As @meesterboom said though. Everyone will want their cut. Myself included! Keep me posted.

Great I'd buy it now! Do you think any royalties being converted into STEEM and distributed evenly amongst contributors would work/be enough?

I'm sure that would be enough off the start. I'd suggest creating an account to serve that purpose. Rewards generated from that account with weekly updates could help pay the costs as well. I'd want to see everyone's share documented beforehand and updates on sales as well as payouts. Dependent on success, the payout wouldn't have to be daily. Bi-weekly or even monthly would be sufficient and eliminate micromanaging.

Having information on the blockchain is enough for me to feel confident. The book could sell well into the future though. That's where I see a few problems.

Well Royalties would be monthly from Amazon for physical books - not sure about Kindle, can't remember. Hadn't thought about posts on Steemit as well. They're aren't many start up costs, just time and maybe costs for a decent cover and some book promotion.

I'd be able to produce a few cover concepts but someone else would have to do the graphic design as that's not really my forte.

Much of my writing depends on the images I've produced and included with the stories. Hopefully having those in place wouldn't be a problem. That does bring up the cost though.

I'm forgetting we have so much talent here at our fingertips on Steemit, bound to be a graphic artist willing to help, if the word is put out. Even could run a competition and pay would be post earnings or something.

Funnily enough that's exactly what I have experience with on Createspace, as I've published a few picture books. I think pictures would be an important part. Thinking an eclectic approach might be best way for first collaboration.

That's a good idea! Obviously there would have to be some cast iron agreement on profit sharing were there to be any to avoid fighty fighting!

Have you ever done anything like that before?

No, but could be done by creating an author name specific for this purpose, and any royalties earnt are converted into STEEM and then distributed to all the authors.

Author name sounds good. @nonameslefttouse has covered most of the points needed to ensure our was all provably fair. Definitely a good idea! I would volunteer some posts too :0)

Sure I am up for it... could be an interesting project.

Really good idea. I'd be up for contributing.

As someone who has written a few posts regarding Steem and Steemit, I think this is a neat idea and would love to contribute, I hope a lot of collaboration comes of this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30