ecoTrain Question of the Week: “What is the best message you can write to someone new on Steemit who has just posted on the ‘introduceyourself’

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

When I came Steemit, like so many, I thought I'd could make some quick money for just writing a few thoughts and ideas down. For me, I took a look deeper and saw all the poetry here and I shared some of my own (old and new), with some of my feelings about the world and the relationship I was in.

I started to make connections and a few SBD here and there.

A small confession, I probably now have more people I can call friends on Steemit than in real life. I am very shy in real life and suffer from depression, but I'm getting more of a handle on it these days, for the most part.

But...

Steemit friends were there when I made the decision to leave my husband and asked him to leave.

Steemit friends were there when I ranted,raved, agonized and wavered on that decision.

I disappeared for a few months of Steemit, as I wasn't in a good place for a little while, but when I came back stronger and with a new zest for life my Steemit friends welcomed me.

They still support me when I have wobble. And I know to come here and write down what I am feeling, rather than letting it fester in my head and get good advice, rather than from the poison parrot on my shoulder.

I now share some of the stuff I have been through in my life to show you can still do good things, even though bad things happen and to share a little love, hope and hugs.

There is always someone on here, because of all the time differences who can support you with a wonderful comment, advice or just a DM away on discord (where Steemers tend to gather and get to know each other off the Steemit platform).

One of the of the most loveliest and memorable comments I have had recently is from one of my fellow @Ecotrain passengers @sharoonyasir:

"I think you are the rainbow after a very bad storm."

That really has touched my heart.

I am eternally grateful for Steemit, but I do wish I started to get to know the people behind the posts a lot sooner. My two favourite places to chat to friends off Steemit are recommended at the end of this post. I hope to welcome and see you there.

This video for me just enscaplutates the caring nature of the Steemit community. I am that little boy. Steemit is the other children.


source: Youtube.com


These are two of the best groups of people you will find (IMO) to help you make the most Of Steemit. (There are lots of groups, but having been in quite a few, these two are the best)

(1) Join us Misfits and Unmentionables here

Unmentionables


(2) And for all those looking to make a difference, this is the place to be..

JOIN

Sort:  

Hi hopehuggs, thank you for an inspiring and heartfelt post. I really love steemit too and although I don't have a lot of time to spend here, it's the greatest place to be.

thank you for sharing this.. it's good to get to know you better.. very touching post

Aww @hopehuggs you're so sweet! When I posted that comment, I thought it had gone unnoticed among the myriads of others you got. But I'm so glad you noticed and appreciated it. It honestly came straight from my heart because I really value how you are positively contributing to the Steemit community and I'm sure otherwise too. So glad to have met you. Hope we always stay in touch :D <3

Wow, I am also from the UK and I really enjoyed that video at the end, and thank you for sharing your feelings and this video with this. I too write poetry and short stories and have found Steemit to be so welcoming. I am glad we have found this warm community.

@hopehuggs, I feel you. Steem was the place for me that helped me to start smiling and looking for every new day with excitement after my LDR failed. I have restarted Steeming and didn't even expect to earn anything, but I thought writing would help me feel better and perhaps learn writing better :) That first post I wrote was the best earning post for me so far.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56596.99
ETH 2394.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32