You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEMIT is the best teacher in the world!

in #steemit7 years ago

Thank you - I was a bit confused when you said 4 months, since your blog says it was created this month , but then I saw it's just your new account ;)

Yeah, I know the feeling - I've felt this about my Steemit posts, too, that some feel mechanical. Luckily, a lot are spontaneous. They're me going with an idea in my head and developing it, seeing where it takes me. So there is a sort of balance, but I try to keep an eye on my writing, to make sure it doesn't become work.

I also write a lot of fiction that I don't post on Steemit (I guess I'm a bit shy about that), so maybe that could help you letting go? Because it's something that I know no one will read and it takes a bit of pressure off.

The more I try to write, the less good the articles are. The best ones are the spontaneous ones, that come up in the middle of the night.

Exactly, trying destroys everything. Never ever try. When I feel that I'm dragging myself to write, I just close the window, because I know whatever comes out is going to suck, so it ain't worth it.

P.S.: Stephen King RULES!!!! ;-)

This made me smile! Thank you for that :D I've always loved his writing, although I feel it's decreased in quality, in the past few years. Still, he has a deep-rooted place in my heart.

Sort:  

That too is the power of SteemIt. i have been struggling with it for a while now, and it feels really good to to find people you can relate to.
Maybe Its a good idea to pick up ‘freestyle fiction writing’ again, not to post, but just to stimulate writing for fun again. After all those years of non-creative writing, I’ve gotten a little rusty... i think I’m really going to take that advice and do something with it.
So thanks for the motivational support!

And I totally agree again on the Stephen King part. I’m a bit disappointed that these last couple of years he stepped away from the ‘horror’ or completely wicked stories, of which he was the absolute master. It’s a bit sad that books like ‘It’, ‘The Running man’, ‘The Stand’, ‘Cell’, ‘Cujo’, the masterpiece ‘The Shining’, one of my favotite short stories ‘The Long Run’ and so many others (I’ve read the entire collection) are followed up by books that kind of disappoint me. Still, I refuse to give up. I bought ‘Sleeping beauties’ a couple of weeks ago, but haven’t started it yet; i don’t want this one to be disappointing too...
But still I haven’t found any other writer in the horror genre that is playing in the same league..

By the way, the fiction you write of which you know no one will ever see it, there’s a big chance it is your best work. It might be a big loss for other people if you hide them from the world... But I do inderstand that you don’t want to expose your precious stories to a world of people that thrive on critisism,,,

So thanks for the motivational support!

I'm glad I could help :D

Yes, I have a feeling 'Sleeping Beauties' is a very feminist, socially aware (o whatever) book...and I just don't think that it's worth exchanging that really amazing, creative fiction of his to prove some tired social point.
I haven't bought it, myself. Don't know if I will. I made the mistake of getting excited for his son's, Joe Hill, book "Strange Weather" and it proved to be a collection of stories about racism, feminism, guns and all that...and he used to write such good horror stories before. Frightening.
But no, there's no one like him.

By the way, the fiction you write of which you know no one will ever see it, there’s a big chance it is your best work.

Possibly...I don't know if it's so much about fear or criticism, although that is very possible. I don't know...I've been trying to build up the courage to share some of that here, too. Maybe I will, soon.
By the way, I really appreciate this comment. It's so encouraging. Thank you.

You too
One last thing about Joe Hill. I read ‘Blind’ without knowing he was ‘the son of’. The first part really stunned me, I really thought I found someone who would be able to live up to King. But the ending was a little disappointing, if I remember correctly. I didn’t read any other books he wrote, but now I might go looking for his old stuff :-)

Blind? What's that? I mean, from what I know, he's written four novels - Heart Shaped Box; Horns; The Fireman; NOS4A2 - and I can't find 'Blind' among his short stories? Please enlighten me.
As a side note, his books are pretty good - I really enjoyed 'The Fireman', which is kinda like 'The Stand', but also different.
I think my favorite is 'NOS4A2', though.

I assume it was 'heart shaped box'. I searched only one website to find out how the book was called in English. A little silly of me, I should have double-checked ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54483.11
ETH 2297.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28